Patrick Recommends

Staff Pick Badge
The War for Gaul: A New Translation By Julius Caesar, James O'Donnell (Translator) Cover Image
By Julius Caesar, James O'Donnell (Translator)
$16.95
ISBN: 9780691216690
Availability: NOT ON OUR SHELVES. Usually Arrives in 4-7 Business Days
Published: Princeton University Press - July 13th, 2021

The War for Gaul is a fantastic account of Julius Caesar’s campaigns of Gaul written by Julius Caesar himself! Through this book, you get to peek into the mind of one of the most faascinating figures in history. It is a great read and it gives a great insight into what was like during this time.


Staff Pick Badge
Kindred By Octavia E. Butler Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780807083697
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Beacon Press - February 1st, 2004

Kindred is a great story about a woman caught between two times. She lives a normal life in the modern times until she is spontaneously transported to the Antebellum South. Octavia Butler is an incredible author and this book is my favorite of hers. She gives a commentary on race, culture, and society that is profound to this day.


Staff Pick Badge
The Poisonwood Bible: A Novel By Barbara Kingsolver Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780060786502
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Perennial Modern Classics - July 5th, 2005

The Poisonwood Bible is a book about a family undergoing change. Their journey is powerful, heartwarming, and leaves an impact on the reader that is hard to forget. I recommend this book to anyone who craves a genuine story that can move people.


Staff Pick Badge
Dune By Frank Herbert Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780441013593
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ace - August 2nd, 2005

Dune by Frank Herbert is an absolute science fiction classic. The scope and scale of the story is immense and it has inspired countless works of science fiction. Trust me, you will never forget your first trip to Arrakis!


Staff Pick Badge
Elantris: Tenth Anniversary Author's Definitive Edition By Brandon Sanderson Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780765381026
Availability: NOT ON OUR SHELVES. Usually Arrives in 4-7 Business Days
Published: Tor Books - October 6th, 2015

In this fantasy novel, a devestation has wrecked a proud and powerful city, and for the past ten years people have been contracting a mysterious disease. Sanderson weaves a fantastic tale about the fate of these people and this ruined city. The world-building is imaginative and the plot is gripping and very well thought out.


Staff Pick Badge
Escapes By Daniel Tunnard Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781951213114
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Unnamed Press - October 6th, 2020

A wickedly funny story set in a world where the board game Scrabble has become one of the biggest sports around. However not everything is sunshine and daisies. The infamous Scrabble Mafia, the "Scraffia," is out there and they are after our main characters.


Staff Pick Badge
Mordew (Cities of the Weft #1) By Alex Pheby Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781250817211
Availability: NOT ON OUR SHELVES. Usually Arrives in 4-7 Business Days
Published: Tor Books - September 14th, 2021

The strange world of Mordew is imaginative, disturbing, and hard to look away from. In this fantasy story you follow a boy named Nathan as he discovers the truth about the world and himself. I highly recommend this book. Pheby has created a unique world that I have not seen anything else like.


Staff Pick Badge
Before the Coffee Gets Cold By Toshikazu Kawaguchi Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781335430991
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hanover Square Press - November 17th, 2020

This beautiful, heartwarming story is about a cafe that allows people to travel back in time. it is a simple premise but it's executed so well. It is very emotional. I cried severaal times throughout my reading (in a good way).


Staff Pick Badge
Pew: A Novel By Catherine Lacey Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781250798534
Availability: NOT ON OUR SHELVES. Usually Arrives in 4-7 Business Days
Published: Picador - July 20th, 2021

A genderless and racially ambiguous person is found sleeping on a church pew. The community tries to take care of them, but as this person doesn't respond to their "help," the community turns to suspicion and resentment. It's a story about identity and conformity that you can't put down.


Staff Pick Badge
Mouth to Mouth: A Novel By Antoine Wilson Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781982181802
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Avid Reader Press / Simon & Schuster - January 11th, 2022

A man saves a random stranger from drowning, but that is only the beginning. As their lives become more and more intertwined, everything rises in intensity until it reaches an unforgettable climax. It is written beautifully and the pages bleed into each other. This book is breathtaking.


Woman, Eating: A Literary Vampire Novel By Claire Kohda Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780063140882
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperVia - April 12th, 2022

A young vampire moves out on her own for the first time. Finally away from her mother, Lyd tries to balance her life of internships, relationships, and the constant desire to drink blood. A beautiful, contemplative book full of life (and death).


Staff Pick Badge
Dear Committee Members By Julie Schumacher Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780345807335
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Anchor - June 23rd, 2015

Told through the endless letters of recommendation he writes, the book follows an English professor as he goes throughout a school year. You see his few successes and many failings. It's a quick read, full of wit and humor.


Staff Pick Badge
The Blade Itself (The First Law Trilogy #1) By Joe Abercrombie Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316387316
Availability: NOT ON OUR SHELVES. Usually Arrives in 4-7 Business Days
Published: Orbit - September 8th, 2015

A haunting fantasy filled with intrigue, magic, and adventure. Book one of The First Law trilogy is perfect for fans of Game of Thrones. From start to finish it is a brutal good time.


Staff Pick Badge
One Hundred Years of Solitude By Gabriel Garcia Marquez Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780060883287
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Perennial Modern Classics - February 21st, 2006

What else can be said about 100 Years of Solitude that hasn't already been said? This book feels alive and has a breath to it. There is a magnetism to this book that pulls you in and doesn't let go. A necessary read!