Kids Books Laura Recommends

Staff Pick Badge
The Rambling Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062498786
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - March 26th, 2019

Another knockout from Cajoleas, THE RAMBLINGS takes the reader to a backwater bayou for an epic, eerie journey filled with magic, card games, and tricksters! Absolutely engrossing!


Staff Pick Badge
The Mysterious Benedict Society Cover Image
By Trenton Lee Stewart, Carson Ellis (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9780316003957
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 2008

Four precocious kids take on an evil man with the help of a secret society! Super fun with tons of twists and turns and, of course, lots of mystery!


Staff Pick Badge
The Size of the Truth (Sam Abernathy Books) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534419551
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - March 26th, 2019

It's a classic tale - boy gets stuck down a well, a talking armadillo becomes his spirit guide, chaos ensues! Funny, clever, and ultimately heartwarming, you won't want to miss this!


Staff Pick Badge
The Adventures of a Girl Called Bicycle Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780823440078
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Margaret Ferguson Books - June 5th, 2018

This is a rag-tag, cross-country adventure you won't want to miss! Featuring a menagerie of animals, a dastardly thief, and a girl who just can't be stopped - THE ADVENTURES OF A GIRL CALLED BICYCLE is sure to be a favorite!


Staff Pick Badge
The Boy, the Boat, and the Beast Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781534412569
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books - June 25th, 2019

Thrilling and exciting - plus one of the most unique Middle Grades I've read in a while! This is a story about growing up and facing your fears!


Staff Pick Badge
The Language of Spells Cover Image
By Garret Weyr, Katie Harnett (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781452159584
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Chronicle Books - June 26th, 2018

A stunning book that reads like a fairytale told around a fire! Get lost in a story of friendship and magic - absolutely enchanting!


Staff Pick Badge
Charlie Hernández & the League of Shadows Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534426580
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Aladdin - October 23rd, 2018

Charlie is just your average kid ... except he's growing horns and wings! This is a fun, magical adventure inspired by the myths and folklore of Latin America. Watch out for the sequel, coming November of 2019!


Staff Pick Badge
Where the Woods End Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780735229235
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - August 14th, 2018

Dark and twisted, poignant and hilarrious, this book is an absolute gem! My favorite character is Pippit, Kestrel's loveably evil ferret!


Staff Pick Badge
Maximillian Fly Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062571168
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - June 11th, 2019

MAXIMILLIAN FLY is the middle-grade METAMORPHOSIS mash up that you didn't know you needed! The Lemony-Snicket-esque prose work perfectly to tell the strange and fascinating tale of Maximillian, a human with the features of a cockroach, whose story becomes entangled with two fugitives of an oppressive government. Wacky, fun, and so satisfying, Maximillian will steal your heart!


Staff Pick Badge
The Mostly True Story of Pudding Tat, Adventuring Cat Cover Image
By Caroline Adderson, Stacy Innerst (Illustrator)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781554989645
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Groundwood Books - April 2nd, 2019

Pudding Tat the cat has a flea in his ear, and now they're setting off on a cross-country adventure! Historical and fun, this is a fantastic book for transitioning readers, age 6-8!


Staff Pick Badge
Skunked!: Calpurnia Tate, Girl Vet Cover Image
By Jacqueline Kelly, Teagan White (Illustrator), Jennifer L. Meyer (Illustrator)
$5.99
ISBN: 9781250129444
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Square Fish - October 3rd, 2017

Our favorite naturalist is back, this time with an Early Readers series for ages 6-8! This book is perfect for anyone interested in history, science, or both!


Staff Pick Badge
My Heart Is a Compass Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316561761
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - November 6th, 2018

This is a beautiful, heartwarming story for your own little adventurer. With whimsical maps and illustrations, this book is a source of inspiration for anyone with an imagination!


Staff Pick Badge
Maria the Matador Cover Image
By Anne Lambelet, Anne Lambelet (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781624146565
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Page Street Kids - February 5th, 2019

Anne Lambelet is one of my favorite illustrators in the game right now! Maria is an adorable little girl obsessed with churros, but how can she win a matador competition for a lifetime supply of the sugary snacks when she's not big, or fast, or brave? MARIA THE MATADOR is a celebration of out-of-the-box thinking, unlikely friendships, and tasty treats!


Staff Pick Badge
Bear Came Along Cover Image
By Richard T. Morris, LeUyen Pham (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316464475
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - June 4th, 2019

This delightful story is filled with cheeky characters, onomatopoeia, and a love of adventure! You won't want to miss it!


Staff Pick Badge
Duckworth, the Difficult Child Cover Image
By Michael Sussman, Júlia Sardà (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534405127
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - June 18th, 2019

DUCKWORTH is a clever, fun story in the vein of Roald Dahl or Lemony Snicket. Perfect for fans of Anne Lambelet's artwork, Sardà's illustrations absolutely capture the imagination!


Staff Pick Badge
Florette Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780544876835
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Clarion Books - February 20th, 2018

Walker stuns and delights with her gorgeous, green watercolor plants! FLORETTE is the perfect book for lazy, sunny afternoons: quiet, beautiful, and magical!


Staff Pick Badge
The Little Rabbit (The Little Animal) Cover Image
By Nicola Killen, Nicola Killen (Illustrator)
$15.99
ISBN: 9781534438286
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books - February 5th, 2019

When Ollie's stuffed rabbit is touched on the nose by a magical petal he turns into a real rabbit! Off he goes, taking Ollie on a sweet adventure! The tri-chromatic illustrations are beautifully rendered, and the dicut pages elevate it to the perfect gift book!


Staff Pick Badge
Clever Little Witch Cover Image
By Muon Thi Van, Hyewon Yum (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481481717
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - July 23rd, 2019

This bright and colorful picture book gives strong Vietnamese KIKI'S DELIVERY SERVICE vibes and is perfect for imaginative, silly children who are prone to a bit of trouble. 


Staff Pick Badge
The Seekers Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781524701529
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - August 6th, 2019

Visionary lightbox artists Hari and Deepti bring us an adventuresome fable illustrated with their stunning artwork. This is a picture book to cherish!