Preorder Donation Drive for OUT OF THE BLUE

Brazos Bookstore and Jason June are teaming up to run an Out of the Blue book donation drive for LGBTQ+ youth centers and librarians with queer teen collections!

If you'd like to donate a copy of OOTB—a queer YA novel about a merperson who comes on land and the human lifeguard they fall in love with—that will be distributed to these programs and the teens who use them, please buy that here and we will take care of the rest!

NOTE: IF YOU ARE PURCHASING A DONATION, PLEASE NOTE IT IN YOUR ORDER COMMENTS

Books will be distributed amongst the following groups:

The Center of Witchita Lost-n-Found Youth SMYAL
Center on Halsted Youth Program Lucie's Place SMYRC
Hatch Youth at the Montrose Center Magic City Acceptance Center Wyoming GSA Network
Just Us at Oasis Center one-n-ten Youth First
Lambert House Orlando Youth Alliance Youth Forward EmpowerMT
Los Angeles LGBT Center Queer Youth ATX Youth Pride, Inc.

 

 

Out of the Blue By Jason June Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780063015203
Availability: NOT ON OUR SHELVES. Usually Arrives in 4-7 Business Days
Published: HarperTeen - May 31st, 2022

From Jason June, author of the breakout teen debut novel Jay’s Gay Agenda, comes Out of the Blue, a stand-alone dual POV queer rom-com that asks if love is enough to change everything you’ve grown up believing. Perfect for fans of Cemetery Boys by Aiden Thomas and Deep Blue by Jennifer Donnelly. 

Crest is not excited to be on their Journey: the month-long sojourn on land all teen merfolk must undergo. The rules are simple: Help a human within one moon cycle and return to Pacifica to become an Elder—or fail and remain stuck on land forever. Crest is eager to get their Journey over and done with. Humans are disgusting. They’ve polluted the planet so much that there’s a floating island of trash that’s literally the size of a country.

In Los Angeles with a human body and a new name, Crest meets Sean, a human lifeguard whose boyfriend has recently dumped him. Crest agrees to help Sean make his ex jealous and win him back. But as the two spend more time together, and Crest’s perspective on humans begins to change, they’ll soon be torn between two worlds. And fake dating just might lead to real feelings . . .

This sophomore novel from Jason June dives into the many definitions of the word home and shows how love can help us find the truest versions of ourselves. 


Article Type Terms: