Picture Books

As summertime comes into full swing we’re looking forward to some amazing new reads! Check out our Summer Reading Guide for 2023 to discover our picks for each age group and genre below–and be sure to look for the Treehouse stamp of approval noting our favorite books in each section! 


 

Manolo & the Unicorn: A Picture Book By Jackie Azúa Kramer, Jonah Kramer, Zach Manbeck (Illustrator) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781951836528
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harry N. Abrams - April 18th, 2023

Manolo loves unicorns, so when the Wild Animal Parade is announced at school, he decides to bring one in. but his classmates don’t see the world as such a magic-filled place. Can Manolo find a real unicorn in time for the parade? This is a tale of believing in unicorns–and yourself! Paired with gorgeous artwork, this is sure to be a favorite in your home library!


Spicy Spicy Hot! By Lenny Wen Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316281027
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 25th, 2023

A heartwarming (and mouth-warming!) tale of a young girl trying to connect with her nenek, with just one problem: Nenek’s spicy sambal is too hot! Lintang will have to train up to beat the heat and connect with her Indonesian heritage. This culinary tale is perfect for fans of Amy Wu and the Perfect Bao and Thank You, Omu!


Ning and the Night Spirits By Adriena Fong Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781913123161
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flying Eye Books - May 2nd, 2023

With gorgeous illustrations (perfect for fans of Joe Todd-Stanton), this heartwarming picture book shows us that no matter how small you are, your actions can make a big difference. When Ning finds himself alone in the forest, he meets plenty of creatures who help him move past his fears and speak up. A perfect, magical bedtime story!


Simon and the Better Bone By Corey R. Tabor, Corey R. Tabor (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Corey R. Tabor, Corey R. Tabor (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9780063275553
Availability: NOT ON OUR SHELVES. Usually Arrives in 4-7 Business Days
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 9th, 2023

A reimagination of Aesop’s The Dog and His Reflection, Caldecott honor winner Corey R. Tabor brings us a clever tale of empathy and generosity. When Simon spots another dog down by the pond–one with a better bone than his!–he’ll do anything to trade. But what will he do when the dog copies his every move? Tabor’s signature illustrations paired with a vertical layout make this book a treasure!


Sorry, Snail By Tracy Subisak Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316537728
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - May 16th, 2023

Everyone gets angry sometimes, but when Ari takes her frustration out on an innocent snail, the snail demands an apology! A genuine apology! As Ms. Snail and her friends invade every corner of Ari’s life, she’ll have to learn to give a real apology in this zany, heartwarming tale great for fans of Escargot!


The Digger and the Butterfly (The Digger Series) By Joseph Kuefler, Joseph Kuefler (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Joseph Kuefler, Joseph Kuefler (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9780063237940
Availability: NOT ON OUR SHELVES. Usually Arrives in 4-7 Business Days
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 23rd, 2023

From acclaimed author/illustrator Joseph Kuefler comes the third book in the beloved Digger series! Digger is used to working hard at the construction site, but when a caterpillar builds its cocoon on Digger’s bucket, he’ll have to stop and be still. What will he notice when he’s not busy working?

* Don't forget to check out The Digger and the Flower and The Digger and the Duckling


Mr. S: A First Day of School Book By Monica Arnaldo, Monica Arnaldo (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Monica Arnaldo, Monica Arnaldo (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9780063003958
Availability: NOT ON OUR SHELVES. Usually Arrives in 4-7 Business Days
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - June 13th, 2023

What happens when a kindergarten class shows up on the first day of school to no teacher and one sandwich? Clearly the sandwich is the teacher! As chaos ensues the class will discover the pros and cons of having no adults–all while another story occurs outside the window. This clever, hilarious picture book is made for fans of Miss Nelson Is Missing and We Don’t Eat Our Classmates!