Fiction Addict

The Fiction Addict is basically like us--fiction all the time; reads from both big and small presses; always looking for the next life changing novel or story; fiction is our forte and this list should rock

Staff Pick Badge
The David Foster Wallace Reader By David Foster Wallace Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9780316182393
Availability: UNAVAILABLE
Published: Little, Brown and Company - November 11th, 2014

No contemporary author has cast a longer shadow over American fiction than David Foster Wallace. With this collection of the master’s work, it’s clear why. Inventive, funny, erudite, heartbreaking, Wallace’s fiction and essays are indispensable, and this volume gathers his best work (and some previously unpublished syllabi). For Wallace fans, and also for newcomers ready to dive in.


Nora Webster: A Novel By Colm Toibin Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781439138335
Availability: Unlikely to Be Available
Published: Scribner - October 7th, 2014

Poor Nora Webster—at least, so says everyone in the small Irish town where she lives. Recently widowed at forty-six, Nora struggles emotionally and financially to take care of herself and her family, returning to work for the first time in years. But in this highly readable novel, there’s ultimately nothing poor about Nora. Despite the tragic premise, this is a story of hope and optimism—perfect for fiction fans looking for a serious but redemptive read.


10:04: A Novel: A Novel By Ben Lerner Cover Image
Unavailable from Brazos Bookstore
ISBN: 9780865478107
Availability: OUT OF PRINT - Not Available for Order
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - September 2nd, 2014

In the wake of Hurricane Sandy, a poet in New York City struggles with his work, his romantic life, and his health. Blurring the line between fact and fiction, Lerner’s novel delights readers with its whimsy and beauty. A smarty pants book with a sense of humor; the young, romantic writer in your life will love it!


A Brief History of Seven Killings: A Novel By Marlon James Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781594486005
Availability: Unlikely to Be Available
Published: Riverhead Books - October 2nd, 2014

1970s Jamaica: a time and place not too far removed from us. Against a historical backdrop, James tells a gripping story about the tumultuous aftereffects of political violence. The characters range from CIA agents to ghosts. Epic, vulgar, and inventive, this novel is a new classic of historical fiction. Anyone who fills up shelves with thick, ambitious books will relish this one!


The King: A Novel By Kader Abdolah, Nancy Forest-Flier (Translated by) Cover Image
By Kader Abdolah, Nancy Forest-Flier (Translated by)
$24.95
ISBN: 9780811223737
Availability: Unlikely to Be Available
Published: New Directions - September 9th, 2014

Sometimes it isn’t so good to be the king. Just ask the title character of this historical novel, a Persian monarch in the 1800s who sits in the throne as the world changes around him. A story of a powerful though small-minded man confronting modernization, colonialism, industrialization, you name it. This relevant, lyrical novel is perfect for fans of historical fiction and also international affairs.


The Assassination of Margaret Thatcher: Stories By Hilary Mantel Cover Image
Unavailable from Brazos Bookstore
ISBN: 9781627792103
Availability: OUT OF PRINT - Not Available for Order
Published: Henry Holt and Co. - September 30th, 2014

No, this isn’t the third installment in the Thomas Cromwell trilogy, but that doesn’t mean Mantel doesn’t weave equally enthralling tales in her short stories. In this book, the plots are twisty and the humor is pitch black. Consider one piece called “Comma,” about a mystery person wrapped in a blanket and the cruel, surreal attempts of two young girls to get the figure to talk. It’s strange, funny, sad, and distinctive. For fans of eerie short fiction.


A Little Lumpen Novelita By Roberto Bolaño, Natasha Wimmer (Translated by) Cover Image
By Roberto Bolaño, Natasha Wimmer (Translated by)
$19.95
ISBN: 9780811223355
Availability: Unlikely to Be Available
Published: New Directions - September 16th, 2014

In the exotic setting of Rome, an orphaned brother and sister turn to a life of crime and get into trouble with a blind ex-bodybuilder who may have riches stashed inside his house. An accessible and beautifully written novella that moves with the velocity of a thriller. Anyone in the cult of Bolaño will love this book, but it’s also a great place to first wade into the author’s ocean of an output.


The Paying Guests By Sarah Waters Cover Image
$28.95
ISBN: 9781594633119
Availability: UNAVAILABLE
Published: Riverhead Books - September 16th, 2014

After World War II, a British woman and her daughter take in two boarders: a husband and a wife. Soon, this act of hospitality descends into a tempestuous love affair, and eventually murder. A historical novel, but one narrow in scope—an intensely focused character study set against shifting times. Aficionados of British history and lovers of lurid romances will delight in this sexy tale.


Indigo: A Novel By Clemens J. Setz, Ross Benjamin (Translated by) Cover Image
By Clemens J. Setz, Ross Benjamin (Translated by)
$27.95
ISBN: 9780871402684
Availability: Unlikely to Be Available
Published: Liveright - November 3rd, 2014

It’s called “Indigo syndrome,” and it causes anyone who comes in contact with an afflicted person to become suddenly nauseated. Where has this syndrome come from? And what is the reason behind the mysterious relocation of several ill children? A haunting, paranoid, and utterly absorbing novel. Fans of Thomas Pynchon, Don DeLillo, and David Foster Wallace will love it.


Article Type Terms: