History

The Mosquito Bowl: A Game of Life and Death in World War II By Buzz Bissinger Cover Image
$32.50
ISBN: 9780062879929
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper - September 13th, 2022

In The Mosquito Bowl, Bissinger (Friday Night Lights) has penned another amazing true story look at men and football and life and death, only this time in WW2! On Christmas Eve, 1944 the 4th and 29th Marine regiments played a football game just prior to the bloody battle for Okinawa. Their stories are both ordinary and moving. The knowledge that many of them did not survive the battle is heartbreaking. That they were young and full of life, athletic and promising, makes it even more tragic. The best and the worst of us, all in one phenomenal read. A great dad or grandpa gift or really, for anyone.

- Joy


Magnificent Rebels: The First Romantics and the Invention of the Self By Andrea Wulf Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9780525657118
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - September 13th, 2022

In this vivid portrait of the birth of romanticism, Wulf brings us into the room with romantic thinkers such as Goethe, Schiller, and the Schlegel siblings. For anyone who wants to uncover the history of self-obsession and reflection and the boundaries between the two, read this book. The history and the philosophy will blow you away.

- Sara


Prisoners of the Castle: An Epic Story of Survival and Escape from Colditz, the Nazis' Fortress Prison By Ben Macintyre Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780593136331
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Crown - September 13th, 2022

Prisoners of war. A Nazi castle. A daring escape. This is history told with all the verve and suspense of a great adventure story. Perfect for fans of Erik Larsen.

- Keaton


The Color of Time: Women In History: 1850-1960 By Dan Jones, Marina Amaral Cover Image
$39.95
ISBN: 9781639362851
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Pegasus Books - September 20th, 2022

This is the gift that has haunted the dreams of history fanatics for years, not to mention a visual tour-de-force. In this book are glossy, digitally strengthened images from the most momentous events in history (Hiroshima, Gettysburg, JFK's wedding) as well as images of every-day folks from the times. Coupled with informative written passages to educate and enthrall, this book is the closest the world will ever get to a time machine.

- Sara


The West Wing and Beyond: What I Saw Inside the Presidency By Pete Souza Cover Image
$50.00
ISBN: 9780316383370
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Voracious - September 27th, 2022

Thanks to Pete Souza's time as an oval officer photographer, the world has been gifted this collection of fascinating portraits behind the scenes of the west wing. For anyone wanting to feel like they've peaked behind the curtain of our country, this is the book for you.

- Sara


Papyrus: The Invention of Books in the Ancient World By Irene Vallejo, Charlotte Whittle (Translated by) Cover Image
By Irene Vallejo, Charlotte Whittle (Translated by)
$35.00
ISBN: 9780593318898
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - October 18th, 2022

Papyrus is the incredible tale of humanity's obsession with the printed word. Vallejo has a rare talent for uncovering fascinating anecdotes in her research as she regales us with stories from ancient Egypt to Oxford, all showing us the foundation upon which Western Civilization was built.

- Laura


Waging a Good War: A Military History of the Civil Rights Movement, 1954-1968 By Thomas E. Ricks Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780374605162
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - October 4th, 2022

Ricks gives us a new way to understand the civil rights movement in his illuminating, engrossing, deeply researched and vividly written Waging a Good War. If you want to understand how the people of the civil rights movement went about changing the United States in the 1950s and '60s, this is the book to read

- Mark


And There Was Light: Abraham Lincoln and the American Struggle By Jon Meacham Cover Image
$40.00
ISBN: 9780553393965
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House - October 18th, 2022

One of the most humanistic portraits of a public figure I have ever read, Meacham's book delves into every aspect of Lincoln's life, from his childhood and mental health to his romantic life and political endeavors. While we all know how the story of Lincoln ends, the complications and victories of his life make this book ideal for any avid history buff. This biography feels like taking a walk with Abraham Lincoln while he recounts his life in gripping prose.

- Sara


Our America: A Photographic History By Ken Burns, Ken Burns (Introduction by), Sarah Hermanson Meister (Introduction by) Cover Image
By Ken Burns, Ken Burns (Introduction by), Sarah Hermanson Meister (Introduction by)
$75.00
ISBN: 9780385353014
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - November 1st, 2022

Enjoy this pictorial history of America from 1839-2019, shown from the eyes of one of our most treasured filmmakers. Our America features hundreds of photos, plus an introduction from Ken Burns and an essay from MoMA photography curator Sarah Hermanson Meister.

- Ülrika


Brave Hearted: The Women of the American West By Katie Hickman Cover Image
$32.00
ISBN: 9781954118171
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Spiegel & Grau - October 25th, 2022

Drawing upon letters, diaries, and other original accounts, Hickman has researched the diverse and harsh lives of the women of the frontier, cutting through myth to show us the true origins of the American West.

- Laura


Staff Pick Badge
Tutankhamun's Trumpet: Ancient Egypt in 100 Objects from the Boy-King's Tomb By Toby Wilkinson Cover Image
$37.50
ISBN: 9780393531701
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - November 1st, 2022

What Mary Beard is to Antiquity, Toby Wilkinson is to Egyptology. In Tutankhamun's Trumpet he focuses in on the infamous boy king's tomb on the hundredth anniversary of its discovery. Filled with incredible photography of each artifact, this book shows the true riches and cultural depths of the Nile Valley.

- Laura