Graphic Novels

As summertime comes into full swing we’re looking forward to some amazing new reads! Check out our Summer Reading Guide for 2021 to discover our picks for each age group and genre below – and be sure to look for the Treehouse stamp of approval noting our favorite books in each section! 


 

Staff Pick Badge
Sprite and the Gardener Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781620109069
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Oni Press - May 11th, 2021

Perfect for fans of The Tea Dragon Society, this whimsical tale follows Wisteria, a young garden sprite who’s unearthing a magical talent for gardening. Celebrate community and harmony with Whitt’s gentle fantasy and beautifully warm artwork and sink into this wonderfully magical tale!


Yorick and Bones: Friends by Any Other Name Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780062854346
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quill Tree Books - May 11th, 2021

Elizabethan skeleton Yorick and his trusty canine Bones have just been invited to a costume party, but who will they be going as? Just what sort of skeleton is Yorick, a jester from the past or a fun loving skeleton of today? Follow the humerus duo to a graveyard where they will ponder such philosophical questions - with help from a few friends, of course! 


Just Pretend Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780316538855
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - May 18th, 2021

Following the vein of Shannon Hale’s Real Friends and Vera Brosgol’s Be Prepared, Tori Sharp’s graphic memoir follows one young girl’s journey with friends, a fractured family, and fiction. Young Tori is stuck in her boring life, unless she can use stories and fantasies to escape when her own world is falling apart. This book is perfect for any kid who’s ever had their head in the clouds! Published May 18


Shark Summer Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780316461443
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - May 25th, 2021

Follow a Hollywood film crew’s competition on Martha’s Vineyard where a group of kids will create a documentary about the island’s phantom shark - and win some hefty prize money, of course! Filled with references from Jaws and other shark-tastic films, Marcks’ graphic novel is a tale of summer adventure, friendship, and mystery! Published May 25


Turtle in Paradise: The Graphic Novel Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780593126301
Availability: Coming Soon - Pre-Order Now
Published: Random House Graphic - June 29th, 2021

This gorgeous graphic novel adaptation of a Newbery Honor-winning novel by the same name will warm your heart! Follow shy Turtle as she moves to 1950’s Florida - a land of alligators, heat, and an excess of boy cousins. Will Turtle ever learn to come out of her shell? Savanna Ganucheau’s bright artwork turns this masterpiece into an absolute treasure! Published June 29