Fiction

Velvet Was the Night Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593356821
Availability: NOT ON OUR SHELVES. Usually Arrives in 4-7 Business Days
Published: Del Rey - August 17th, 2021

From the NY Times bestselling author of Mexican Gothic comes a captivating noir set in 1970's Mexico City. This is an excellent pick for fans of Paula Brackston's engrossing plots or Chelsea Summers' beautiful prose.

- Ülrika


Matrix: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781594634499
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - September 7th, 2021

With prose to sink your teeth into, Groff's latest novel takes readers 12th century England and France where a young abbess will struggle for power in a world built by and for men. Marie's story is transcendent, filled with harsh realities offset by quiet moments of pure ecstasy. For those worried that Groff couldn't live up to Fates and Furies, prepare to discover just how unfounded those fears are.

- Laura G


Beautiful World, Where Are You: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780374602604
Availability: NOT ON OUR SHELVES. Usually Arrives in 4-7 Business Days
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - September 7th, 2021

An instant New York Times Bestseller! Four Irish late 20 - early 30-somethings love each other, miss each other, mistreat each other, and search for their Beautiful World. By the author of Normal People and Conversations with Friends.

- Amy


The Magician: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781476785080
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner - September 7th, 2021

Against the backdrop of World War I, the rise of Hitler, World War II, and beyond, Colm Tóibín explores the rich and complex life of brilliant yet anguished writer Thomas Mann in this stunning family saga. Perfect for Tóibín’s fans and for those who want layered, nuanced historical fiction.

- Joy


Harlem Shuffle: A Novel Cover Image
$28.95
ISBN: 9780385545136
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Doubleday - September 14th, 2021

Pulitzer Prize winner Colson Whitehead's newest book Harlem Shuffle is a fantastic crime story mixed with a family drama. Whitehead has created a picture of 1950's Harlem that is so lifelike and detailed, you feel like you are there with the main character Ray. Harlem Shuffle has the same excellent quality that Whitehead achieved with The Nickel Boys and The Underground Railroad.

- Patrick


Harrow: A novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780525657569
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - September 14th, 2021

Joy Williams returns with her signature eerie style for an environmental-apocalyptic tale. Perfect for fans of Christiane Vadnais or Kawai Strong Washburn, Khristen's journey is fascinating, witty, and, at times, absurdly tenderhearted. Harrow will please both long-time Williams fans and those just beginning to discover her fascinating oeuvre.

- Laura G


Civilizations: A Novel Cover Image
By Laurent Binet, Sam Taylor (Translated by)
$27.00
ISBN: 9780374600815
Availability: NOT ON OUR SHELVES. Usually Arrives in 4-7 Business Days
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - September 14th, 2021

By European writer Laurent Binet, Civilizations is a tale of exploration, vikings, conquests, and more, all centered around a female warrior. The perfect historical fiction tale for someone who enjoys the endeavours of the Middle Ages and powerful female characters.

- Laila


Three Novels: Kingdom Cons, Signs Preceding the End of the World, the Transmigration of Bodies Cover Image
By Yuri Herrera, Lisa Dillman (Translator)
$25.95
ISBN: 9781913505240
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: And Other Stories - September 14th, 2021

The Mexico we hear of in the news―the drug cartels, migration, and senseless violence―is rich soil for Herrera’s moving stories of people who live in this reality but also live in the timeless realm of myth, epic, and fairy tale, such as the singer Lobo in Kingdom Cons who loves the drug lord’s own daughter, Makina who crosses borders to find her brother in Signs Preceding the End of the World, and the Redeemer, a hard-boiled hero looking to broker peace between feuding families during a pandemic in The Transmigration of Bodies.

- Mark


Bewilderment: A Novel Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9780393881141
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - September 21st, 2021

A beautiful, tragic ode to the love between a father and son that spans from the deepest recesses of the human heart to the farthest reaches of the universe in a search for hope in a dying world.

- Keaton


Cloud Cuckoo Land: A Novel Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781982168438
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner - September 28th, 2021

By author of All The Light We Cannot See, Anthony Doerr writes yet another beautifully atmospheric tale of the past and future. Filled with the power of love, friendships, and writing, this is a book about a book but captures so much more beneath the surface.

- Laila


The Morning Star: A Novel Cover Image
By Karl Ove Knausgaard, Martin Aitken (Translated by)
$30.00
ISBN: 9780399563423
Availability: NOT ON OUR SHELVES. Usually Arrives in 4-7 Business Days
Published: Penguin Press - September 28th, 2021

A mysterious celestial body appears in the late-August sky, accompanied by Biblical omens, hallucinations, and increasingly uncanny events in the natural world. Tracing the lives of nine interconnected characters, Knausgaard sets these enigmatic phenomena against the minutiae of everyday life.

- Mark


The Lincoln Highway: A Novel Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780735222359
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking - October 5th, 2021

From the beloved author of a A Gentleman in Moscow comes a rollicking road trip novel about Emmet Watson, who is forced to upend his fresh start when two stowaways from the work farm he has just been released from take him on a wild journey across 1950's America. Full of adventure, mischief, and wit, this book will rearrange how you think about stories, friendship, and the nature of fate.

- Laura M


Silverview: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593490594
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking - October 12th, 2021

LeCarre’s last finished novel is the story of Julian Lawndsley, who leaves his high-powered job to run a bookshop in a tiny English seaside town. But when a visitor arrives who knows far too much about Julian, tensions and mystery build in this absolutely perfect spy tale from the late master of the craft. A great ‘dad gift’ but really wonderful for anyone.

- Joy


The Wandering Earth Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781250796837
Availability: NOT ON OUR SHELVES. Usually Arrives in 4-7 Business Days
Published: Tor Books - October 26th, 2021

An addictive and impactful tale of human life, space, and sacrifice as the sun is about to explode and earth must be saved. In this science-fiction novel, scientists have conjured up a plan to save humanity, but the journey is full of unexpected surprises. It'll leave you in awe and on the edge of your seat. Perfect for science-fiction lovers and creative minds.

- Laila


The Sentence Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780062671127
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper - November 9th, 2021

Written in real time over the course of a year (from November 2019 to November 2020) Erdrich manages to capture the uncertainty and absurdity of living through a pandemic - all channelled through one ghost story. Her female-driven novel centers itself around an Ojibwe woman and recalls the works of Zora Neale Hurston or Toni Morrison.

- Ülrika


Staff Pick Badge
Beasts of Prey Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780593405680
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - September 28th, 2021

Thrilling, gorgeous, and epic to the highest degree, Beasts of Prey is the next great YA fantasy! Gray immerses her readers in the gloriously atmospheric world of Lkossa - all while maintaining a heart pounding, fast-paced plot. Koffi and Ekon are written with nuance and passion, the beating heart of this addictive story.

- Laura G


Within These Wicked Walls: A Novel Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250787101
Availability: NOT ON OUR SHELVES. Usually Arrives in 4-7 Business Days
Published: Wednesday Books - October 19th, 2021

This Ethiopian inspired retelling of Jane Eyre is not to be missed! If that sentence alone didn't hook you, why not throw in a main character who's an exorcist, the handsome, brooding patron who hired her, and a terrifying curse? Full of all the classic gothic tropes with a magical twist, this book is perfect for fans of horror and romance alike.

- Laura M


Bad Girls Never Say Die Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250232588
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Roaring Brook Press - October 19th, 2021

Friend of store author Jennifer Mathieu’s newest YA takes place in Houston in 1964 and stars self-proclaimed bad girl, Evie Barnes. It’s a hard-hitting tale of secrets and murder and heartache - a gender swapped, feminist take on Hinton’s The Outsiders. A great read for teens and adults alike, and we’ve got signed copies (while supplies last)!

- Joy


Gilded (Gilded Duology #1) Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250618849
Availability: NOT ON OUR SHELVES. Usually Arrives in 4-7 Business Days
Published: Feiwel & Friends - November 2nd, 2021

A beautful and dark fantasy that is fun and breathtaking. Gilded takes classic fairy tales and mashes them up with science fiction, romance, and great storytelling. A young girl's quest to break her curse goes in suprising and interesting directions. Gilded really stands on its own!

- Patrick


Roxy Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781534451254
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - November 9th, 2021

Perfect for fans of American Gods, Neal and Jarrod Shusterman's speculative thriller explores the opioid crisis and the lives it's ruined. Tense and powerful, Roxy will haunt you.

- Ülrika


The Year I Stopped Trying Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780593118283
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - November 16th, 2021

16-year-old Mary Davies is wrapped up in a self-imposed need to maintain perfection in all areas of her life. When she misses a school assignment and her world doesn't collapse she discovers and entirely new freedom in not being perfect . Somewhere there is a balance, isn't there? This book is for the recovering perfectionist in your life!

- Amy


Crossroads: A Novel Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780374181178
Availability: NOT ON OUR SHELVES. Usually Arrives in 4-7 Business Days
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - October 5th, 2021

Crossroads is an epic. It is a story about an average midwestern family trying to go about their lives, but it is so much more. Each member of the Hildebrants is vivid and colorful. You end up sympathizing and rooting for each one of them, even though sometimes their personalities, goals, and ideals are in complete contrast with each other. With Crossroads, Franzen has turned the simple and the mundane into something incredible.

- Patrick


Article Type Terms: