VIRTUAL - Middle Grade Book Club with Gillian McDunn

Start: 
Saturday, June 19, 2021 - 3:00pm
Location: 

We will be discussing THESE UNLUCKY STARS by Gillian McDunn.

This month we’ll be joined by author Gillian McDunn.

This event will be hosted on Zoom. Please register for the meeting here.


How It Works:

1. Purchase a copy of the chosen book from the store for your middle grader.

2. Middle grader reads the book!

3. Tune into the meeting on Saturday, June 19 at 3pm for a book club discussion with fellow readers, facilitated by our Children’s Programming Director, Joy.

Parents are welcome as well, but the focus will be on letting our young readers discuss their opinions of the book and its story. Books are available for purchase in the store or online.


More about THESE UNLUCKY STARS

From the highly acclaimed author of Caterpillar Summer comes a sweet and heartfelt story of a girl's unexpected friendship that changes her forever, perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt.

Ever since her mother left a few years ago, Annie has felt like the odd one out in her family. Her dad and brother are practical and organized--they just don't understand the way she thinks, in lines and color. Everywhere she turns, she feels like an outsider, even at school, so she's been reluctant to get close to anyone.

When a "Ding-Dong-Ditch" attempt goes wrong, Annie finds herself stuck making amends with Gloria, the eccentric elderly lady she disturbed. As she begins to connect with Gloria and her weird little dog, it becomes clear that Gloria won't be able to live on her own for much longer. But it's this brief and important friendship that gives Annie the confidence to let people in, and see how rich life can be when you decide to make your own luck and chart your own path to happiness.

In this heartwarming novel, acclaimed author Gillian McDunn shows us that even the most unexpected friendship has the power to change us forever.


More about Gillian McDunn:

Gillian McDunn is the author of Caterpillar Summer and The Queen Bee and Me. She has lived in California, Missouri, and North Carolina, and is a fan of both the Pacific and the Atlantic Oceans. She currently lives near Raleigh, NC, with her family.

These Unlucky Stars Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781547605385
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - March 2nd, 2021