IN PERSON - Remy Lai - GHOST BOOK

Start: 
Saturday, September 16, 2023 - 3:00pm
Location: 
Brazos Bookstore--
2421 Bissonnet Street
Houston, TX 77005

Brazos Bookstore will host Remy Lai in person on Saturday, September 16 at 3pm.

This event will include a drawing demo from the author.


Perfect for fans of Spirited AwayCoco, and Ghosts comes a contemporary fantasy graphic novel about a girl who can see ghosts and befriends a boy who is stuck between the worlds of the living and the dead—an instant classic from the award-winning creator of Pie in the Sky

Twelve years ago, the boy and the girl lived. But one was supposed to die.

July Chen sees ghosts. But her dad insists ghosts aren’t real. So she pretends they don’t exist. Which is incredibly difficult now as it's Hungry Ghost month, when the Gates of the Underworld open and dangerous ghosts run amok in the living world. When July saves a boy ghost from being devoured by a Hungry Ghost, he becomes her first ever friend. Except William is not a ghost. He’s a wandering soul wavering between life and death. As the new friends embark on an adventure to return William to his body, they unearth a ghastly truth—for William to live, July must die.

Inspired by Chinese mythology, this dark yet resoundingly hopeful tale about friendship, sacrifice, and the unseen world of ghosts is a dazzling heir to beloved Studio Ghibli classics.


Remy Lai studied fine arts, with a major in painting and drawing. She was born in Indonesia, grew up in Singapore, and currently lives in Brisbane, Australia, where she writes and draws stories for kids with her two dogs by her side. She is the author of the critically-acclaimed Pie in the SkyFly on the Wall, and Pawcasso.

Ghost Book By Remy Lai Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781250810434
Availability: NOT ON OUR SHELVES. Usually Arrives in 4-7 Business Days
Published: Henry Holt and Co. BYR Paperbacks - August 15th, 2023