IN PERSON - February Not YA Mama's Book Club

Start: 
Tuesday, February 7, 2023 - 6:30pm
Location: 
Brazos Bookstore--
2421 Bissonnet Street
Houston, TX 77005

Children’s and Teen’s specialist Laura G. leads a freestyle discussion on Young Adult books. This book club is meant as a community for YA fans age 18 and older. No need to worry if you haven’t read this month’s book, come and enjoy the discussion!

Click here to view our main Not YA Mama’s Book Club page!


This month we’ll be reading…

As Long as the Lemon Trees Grow By Zoulfa Katouh Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316351379
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 13th, 2022

A love letter to Syria and its people, As Long as the Lemon Trees Grow is a speculative novel set amid the Syrian Revolution, burning with the fires of hope, love, and possibility. Perfect for fans of The Book Thief and Salt to the Sea.

Salama Kassab was a pharmacy student when the cries for freedom broke out in Syria. She still had her parents and her big brother; she still had her home. She had a normal teenager’s life. 
 
Now Salama volunteers at a hospital in Homs, helping the wounded who flood through the doors daily. Secretly, though, she is desperate to find a way out of her beloved country before her sister-in-law, Layla, gives birth. So desperate, that she has manifested a physical embodiment of her fear in the form of her imagined companion, Khawf, who haunts her every move in an effort to keep her safe. 
 
But even with Khawf pressing her to leave, Salama is torn between her loyalty to her country and her conviction to survive. Salama must contend with bullets and bombs, military assaults, and her shifting sense of morality before she might finally breathe free. And when she crosses paths with the boy she was supposed to meet one fateful day, she starts to doubt her resolve in leaving home at all.  
 
Soon, Salama must learn to see the events around her for what they truly are—not a war, but a revolution—and decide how she, too, will cry for Syria’s freedom.