Natalie Lund - WE SPEAK IN STORMS

Start: 
Monday, January 13, 2020 - 6:30pm
Location: 
2421 Bissonnet Street
Houston, TX 77005

Natalie will be in conversation with Anthony Sutton.


A powerful and haunting debut novel about friendship, acceptance, and learning to let go as the balance between the living and the dead is upended, perfect for fans of We Were Liars.

It's been more than 50 years since a tornado tore through a drive-in movie theater in tiny Mercer, Illinois, leaving dozens of teens -- a whole generation of Mercerites -- dead in its wake. So when another tornado touches down in the exact same spot on the anniversary of this small-town tragedy, the town is shaken. For Brenna Ortiz, Joshua Calloway, and Callie Keller, the apprehension is more than just a feeling. Though they seem to share nothing more than a struggle to belong, the teens' paths continue to intersect, bringing them together when they least expect it, and perhaps, when they need it most. Both the living and the dead have secrets and unresolved problems, but they may be able to find peace and move forward--if only they work together.

A beautifully told, haunting yet hopeful novel about pushing past the pain, facing the world, and finding yourself.


Natalie Lund (natalielund.com) is a former middle and high school teacher. A graduate of Purdue University's MFA program, she taught introductory composition and creative writing there, and also served as the fiction editor of The Sycamore Review. Natalie lives in Chicago with her husband. You can follow her on Twitter @nmlund.

Anthony Sutton resides on former Akokiksas, Atakapa, Karankawa, and Sana land (currently named Houston, TX) and has had poems appear or forthcoming in Rabbit Catastrophe, Gulf Coast, Grist, The Journal, Passages North, Prairie Schooner, Puerto del Sol, Quarter After Eight, Third Coast, and elsewhere.


Note on the signing line: You must purchase a copy of We Speak in Storms from Brazos Bookstore to enter the signing line and meet Natalie Lund. Thank you.

We Speak in Storms Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525518006
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Philomel Books - September 3rd, 2019