Features

General blog posts

Kids Summer Reading Guide 2022

As summertime comes into full swing we’re looking forward to some amazing new reads! Check out our Summer Reading Guide for 2022 to discover our picks for each age group and genre below – and be sure to look for the Treehouse stamp of approval noting our favorite books in each section! 

Kid's Summer Bookmark Contest 2022!

We give out a LOT of bookmarks here at Brazos, and we are always looking for new ideas for their design. This spring we’re asking kids to lend their artistic expertise to our annual Bookmark Contest! The deadline for submissions is Wednesday, April 27, 2022. We’ll announce the winners at our Summer Reading Kick Off Party!

 

Indie Bookstore Day 2022

We’re so excited to celebrate Indie Bookstore Day! This year we’ll be hosting events both in person and online, so check out our schedule below to learn more!


EVENTS

 

Music, Connection, and the Science of Time: An Interview with Natalie Hodges

Uncommon Measure by Natalie Hodges is the remarkable memoir of a young violinist’s struggle with performance anxiety, her exploration of music and the science of time, and her path towards creating a life that includes her love of music, even if it doesn’t look the way she originally imagined. This book resonated with me on so many levels, and I was honored to be able to talk to Natalie about all things music, science, and time!

 

Uncommon Measure: A Journey Through Music, Performance, and the Science of Time Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781942658979
Availability: NOT ON OUR SHELVES. Usually Arrives in 4-7 Business Days
Published: Bellevue Literary Press - March 22nd, 2022

Preorder THE CANDY HOUSE Today!

Preorder your copy of Jennifer Egan's THE CANDY HOUSE today! The first 20 preorders will receive a signed bookplate and reusable tote!

The Candy House: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781476716763
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner - April 5th, 2022

Named a Most Anticipated Book of the Year by Time, Entertainment Weekly, Vogue, Good Housekeeping, Oprah Daily, Glamour, USA Today, Parade, Bustle, San Francisco Chronicle, Seattle Times, The Boston Globe, Tampa Bay Times, BuzzFeed, Vulture and many more!

From one of the most celebrated writers of our time, a literary figure with cult status, a “sibling novel” to her Pulitzer Prize- and ​NBCC Award-winning A Visit from the Goon Squad—an electrifying, deeply moving novel about the quest for authenticity and meaning in a world where memories and identities are no longer private.

The Candy House opens with the staggeringly brilliant Bix Bouton, whose company, Mandala, is so successful that he is “one of those tech demi-gods with whom we’re all on a first name basis.” Bix is 40, with four kids, restless, desperate for a new idea, when he stumbles into a conversation group, mostly Columbia professors, one of whom is experimenting with downloading or “externalizing” memory. It’s 2010. Within a decade, Bix’s new technology, “Own Your Unconscious”—that allows you access to every memory you’ve ever had, and to share every memory in exchange for access to the memories of others—has seduced multitudes. But not everyone.

In spellbinding interlocking narratives, Egan spins out the consequences of Own Your Unconscious through the lives of multiple characters whose paths intersect over several decades. Intellectually dazzling, The Candy House is also extraordinarily moving, a testament to the tenacity and transcendence of human longing for real connection, love, family, privacy and redemption. In the world of Egan’s spectacular imagination, there are “counters” who track and exploit desires and there are “eluders,” those who understand the price of taking a bite of the Candy House. Egan introduces these characters in an astonishing array of narrative styles—from omniscient to first person plural to a duet of voices, an epistolary chapter and a chapter of tweets.

If Goon Squad was organized like a concept album, The Candy House incorporates Electronic Dance Music’s more disjunctive approach. The parts are titled: Build, Break, Drop. With an emphasis on gaming, portals, and alternate worlds, its structure also suggests the experience of moving among dimensions in a role-playing game.

The Candy House is a bold, brilliant imagining of a world that is moments away. Egan takes to stunning new heights her “deeply intuitive forays into the darker aspects of our technology-driven, image-saturated culture” (Vogue). The Candy House delivers an absolutely extraordinary combination of fierce, exhilarating intelligence and heart.


Preorder Donation Drive for OUT OF THE BLUE

Brazos Bookstore and Jason June are teaming up to run an Out of the Blue book donation drive for LGBTQ+ youth centers and librarians with queer teen collections!

If you'd like to donate a copy of OOTB—a queer YA novel about a merperson who comes on land and the human lifeguard they fall in love with—that will be distributed to these programs and the teens who use them, please buy that here and we will take care of the rest!

NOTE: IF YOU ARE PURCHASING A DONATION, PLEASE NOTE IT IN YOUR ORDER COMMENTS

Out of the Blue Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780063015203
Availability: Coming Soon - Pre-Order Now
Published: HarperTeen - May 31st, 2022

From Jason June, author of the breakout teen debut novel Jay’s Gay Agenda, comes Out of the Blue, a stand-alone dual POV queer rom-com that asks if love is enough to change everything you’ve grown up believing. Perfect for fans of Cemetery Boys by Aiden Thomas and Deep Blue by Jennifer Donnelly. 

Crest is not excited to be on their Journey: the month-long sojourn on land all teen merfolk must undergo. The rules are simple: Help a human within one moon cycle and return to Pacifica to become an Elder—or fail and remain stuck on land forever. Crest is eager to get their Journey over and done with. Humans are disgusting. They’ve polluted the planet so much that there’s a floating island of trash that’s literally the size of a country.

In Los Angeles with a human body and a new name, Crest meets Sean, a human lifeguard whose boyfriend has recently dumped him. Crest agrees to help Sean make his ex jealous and win him back. But as the two spend more time together, and Crest’s perspective on humans begins to change, they’ll soon be torn between two worlds. And fake dating just might lead to real feelings . . .

This sophomore novel from Jason June dives into the many definitions of the word home and shows how love can help us find the truest versions of ourselves. 


In Memory of Paula Cohen

One of the things I love most about my job as Children’s Programming Director here at Brazos is creating wonderful author events for all authors, but particularly for debut authors. There is such a happy magic in celebrating the arrival of a new book, letting people know why we at the store love it, putting it in customers’ hands. This is especially satisfying when it’s a book I particularly love or which I feel a personal connection to in some way.

Big Dreams, Small Fish Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781646141265
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Levine Querido - March 1st, 2022

Brazos Treehouse Spring Break 2022: Let's Get Cooking!

Spring Break is right around the corner so be sure to check out our fun programming all about food, cooking, and, of course, books!

Spring Break will be hosted from Saturday, March 12 to Saturday, March 19 both virtually and in person! Click on the images below to learn more!

 

Preorder A GRACIOUS NEIGHBOR Today!

Houston author and friend-of-store Chris Cander will be releasing her latest novel, A GRACIOUS NEIGHBOR, this July! Click below to preorder your copy (hardcover and paperback available) to receive a signed copy!

 

A Gracious Neighbor Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781542039178
Availability: Coming Soon - Pre-Order Now
Published: Little a - July 1st, 2022

A gripping novel about friendship, secrets, misjudgments, and redemption among women by the USA Today bestselling author of The Weight of a Piano.

Martha Hale is an affable wife and mother who lives in an affluent neighborhood of well-tended lawns and high expectations. If only her clumsiness at penetrating the social circles of her neighbors weren’t making Martha so lonely.

That’s why she’s thrilled when the glamorous Minnie Foster, a former high school classmate, moves in next door. Despite Martha’s determination, picking up where they left off is trickier than anticipated―especially when their memories of the past don’t always align. But Martha is undeterred. In fact, her preoccupation with Minnie’s life, her success, and her marriage is becoming an obsession. When she sees a darkness and shame hiding inside Minnie’s perfectly deceptive home, Martha realizes that not even Minnie’s secrets are what they seem.

Visceral, sharp-witted, and deeply empathetic, A Gracious Neighbor explores the judgments women pass on one another and the ills of a society curated to keep them on the outside looking in.


A Gracious Neighbor Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781542039154
Availability: Coming Soon - Pre-Order Now
Published: Little a - July 1st, 2022

Valentine's Day: Love Stories & Heartbreaks

This Valentine's Day, celebrate the Love Stories and the Heartbreaks with these titles, specially selected by the Brazos Staff! Enjoy!


 

Pages