Through the Looking-Glass: And What Alice Found There (Illustrated) (Paperback)

Through the Looking-Glass: And What Alice Found There (Illustrated) Cover Image
Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days


"Through the Looking-Glass, and What Alice Found There" is a work of literature by Lewis Carroll. It is the sequel to Alice's Adventures in Wonderland. The themes and settings of Through the Looking-Glass make it a kind of mirror image of Wonderland: the first book begins outdoors, in the warm month of May, uses frequent changes in size as a plot device, and draws on the imagery of playing cards; the second opens indoors on a snowy, wintry night exactly six months later, in November, uses frequent changes in time and spatial directions as a plot device, and draws on the imagery of chess. In it, there are many mirror themes, including opposites, time running backwards, and so on. This novel provides superior entertainment for the whole family. The book includes 12 chapters filled with fantasy and magic. We find Carroll's inquisitive heroine in a fantastic land where everything is reversed. Alice encounters talking flowers, madcap kings and queens, and becomes a pawn in a bizarre chess game involving Humpty Dumpty, Tweedledum and Tweedledee, and other amusing nursery-rhyme characters. This timeless novel has been published several times before and it is a pleasure to publish this new, high quality, and affordable edition. This edition includes about 50 illustrations.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781480241442
ISBN-10: 148024144X
Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
Publication Date: November 3rd, 2012
Pages: 162
Language: English