The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly Cover Image
$17.99
Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


I can’t stop thinking about this mesmerizing YA debut novel. In juvenile detention for aggravated assault, seventeen-year-old Minnow makes a deal with an FBI agent: give her a good recommendation at her parole evaluation, and she’ll tell him about the backwoods-dwelling cult that’s taken the last twelve years of her life. Oh, and both her hands. As Minnow learns to live in the complicated society of juvenile prison, her memories pour out in a nail-biting, but ultimately hopeful, story of freedom gained.

— From Liz's Kids Book Recommendations

Description


**THE BOOK THAT INSPIRED SACRED LIES, NOW STREAMING ON FACEBOOK WATCH**

A Morris Award finalist and Golden Kite Honor Book! 


A hard-hitting and hopeful story about the dangers of blind faith—and the power of having faith in yourself. 


The Kevinian cult has taken everything from seventeen-year-old Minnow: twelve years of her life, her family, her ability to trust. And when she rebelled, they took away her hands, too.

Now their Prophet has been murdered and their camp set aflame, and it's clear that Minnow knows something—but she's not talking. As she languishes in juvenile detention, she struggles to un-learn everything she has been taught to believe, adjusting to a life behind bars and recounting the events that led up to her incarceration. But when an FBI detective approaches her about making a deal, Minnow sees she can have the freedom she always dreamed of—if she’s willing to part with the terrible secrets of her past.

Gorgeously written, breathlessly page-turning and sprinkled with moments of unexpected humor, this harrowing debut is perfect for readers of Emily Murdoch's If You Find Me and Nova Ren Suma's The Walls Around Us, as well as for fans of Orange is the New Black.

About the Author


Stephanie Oakes lives in Spokane, Washington, and works as a library media teacher in a combined middle and elementary school. She has an MFA in poetry from Eastern Washington University. The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly is her debut novel.

Praise For…


Now a Morris Award Honor Book, Golden Kite Honor Book, Booklist Editors' Choice, New York Public Library Best Book for Teens, Georgia Peach Book Award Nominee and a Texas TAYSHAS Top Ten Book!

* "In beautiful and harrowing prose, Stephanie Oakes’ debut peels back the veneer of fairytales to reveal their inherent darkness."—Booklist, STARRED REVIEW

*
"Suspense, dread, and hope intermingle in Oakes’s charged, page-turning debut."—Publishers Weekly, STARRED REVIEW

* "A truly thought-provoking and spectacular story.” —VOYA, Perfect 10/STARRED REVIEW

"The Scared Lies of Minnow Bly is a psychological thriller, a commentary on our justice system, and a must read book."—Hypable

"A page-turner in the truest form of the phrase."—Bustle

"A profoundly thoughtful and meaningful read...if you care about girls, you should read it. And since everyone should care about girls, everyone should read it."—Teen Librarian Toolbox

"The unravelling of the mystery and the timing of the revelations is masterful, culminating in an explosively rewarding ending. Unflinching, unrelenting and visceral, this one has undeniable adult crossover appeal."—The Globe and Mail

"Based on Grimm’s fairy tale, “The Handless Maiden,” the powerful, fluent writing; engrossing and well-layered mystery; compelling characters; and provocative ideas about family, faith, honesty, loyalty, and friendship are engaging....Ellen Hopkins devotees and fans of The Chosen One by Carol Lynch Williams will seek this one out."—School Library Journal
Product Details
ISBN: 9780803740709
ISBN-10: 0803740700
Publisher: Dial Books
Publication Date: June 9th, 2015
Pages: 400
Language: English