You Know I'm No Good (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
You Know I'm No Good Cover Image
$17.99
BACKORDERED

Staff Reviews


Printz Honor-Winning author Jessie Ann Foley returns with a tale of one girl's climb out of the wreckage of her life. Exploring themes of trauma, both personal and generational, Mia's story is fully dimensional and painfully realistic while also battling for hope and acceptance. You Know I'm No Good is a reclaiming for teenage girls everywhere: of their bodies, of their minds, and of their souls.

— From Laura G Recommends

Description


This razor-sharp novel from Printz Honor winner and Morris Award finalist Jessie Ann Foley will appeal to fans of Rory Power and Mindy McGinnis.

Mia is officially a Troubled Teen™— she gets bad grades, drinks too much, and has probably gone too far with too many guys.

But she doesn’t realize how out of control she seems until she is taken from her home in the middle of the night and sent away to Red Oak Academy, a therapeutic girls' boarding school in the middle of nowhere.

While there, Mia is forced to confront her painful past at the same time she questions why she's at Red Oak. If she were a boy, would her behavior be considered wild enough to get sent away? But what happens when circumstances outside of her control compel Mia to make herself vulnerable enough to be truly seen?

Challenging and thought-provoking, this stunning contemporary YA novel examines the ways society is stacked against teen girls and what one young woman will do to even the odds. 

A Chicago Public Library Best Teen Fiction Selection

A Banks Street Best Children's Book of the Year

About the Author


Jessie Ann Foley is the Printz Honor–winning author of the YA novels The Carnival at Bray, Neighborhood Girls, Sorry for Your Loss, and You Know I’m No Good. Her middle grade debut is Breda's Island. Her work has been named to best-of lists by Kirkus Reviews, ALA Booklist, YALSA, Entertainment Weekly, and many other outlets, and has been featured on school and library recommended reading lists all across the United States. Jessie lives with her family in Chicago, where she

Praise For…


"When I love a book, I just inhale, absorb, consume. This book is so good and beautiful and true." 
— Carrie Mesrobian, William C. Morris Award Finalist 

"An instant winner, reminiscent of the classic Speak, with a caustically funny and searching teen protagonist."
— School Library Journal

“This is a thoughtful examination of sexual assault, trauma, and misogyny. . . Remarkably moving.”
Kirkus Reviews

“Arresting dialogue and tender moments showcase the girls’ distinct and lively personalities while offering striking examples of the way society ignores teenage girls’ experiences.”
Publishers Weekly

“For teens—especially girls—still finding that place between vulnerable and armored, this will be a balm.”
Booklist

"A captivating portrait of a girl at war with herself, this novel grapples with complex social issues in the guise of one young person’s trauma . . . Recommend this to readers who want a more contemporary, inclusive alternative to Kaysen’s Girl, Interrupted.
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062957085
ISBN-10: 0062957082
Publisher: Quill Tree Books
Publication Date: October 13th, 2020
Pages: 320
Language: English