Foxheart (Hardcover)

Foxheart Cover Image
By Claire Legrand, Jaime Zollars (Illustrator)
$16.99
Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days

Description


Foxheart is a classic fantasy-adventure about the danger of lies and the power of truth, the strength found in friendship, and the value of loving and being loved . . . even if it means risking your heart. Full of magic, adventure, and an original and compelling cast of characters, Foxheart is a fast-paced fantasy reminiscent of Howl’s Moving Castle.

Orphan. Thief. Witch. Twelve-year-old Quicksilver lives as a thief in the sleepy town of Willow-on-the-River. Her only companions are her faithful dog and partner in crime, Fox—and Sly Boots, the shy boy who lets her live in his attic when it’s too cold to sleep on the rooftops. It’s a lonesome life, but Quicksilver is used to being alone. When you are alone, no one can hurt you. No one can abandon you. Then one day Quicksilver discovers that she can perform magic. Real magic. The kind that isn’t supposed to exist anymore. Magic is forbidden, but Quicksilver nevertheless wants to learn more. With real magic, she could become the greatest thief who ever lived. She could maybe even find her parents. What she does find, however, is much more complicated and surprising. . . .

Acclaimed author Claire Legrand’s stunning and original novel will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman and Diana Wynne Jones.

Praise For…


“Heart-pounding adventure, a commitment to remaining true to oneself, and deft storytelling distinguish Legrand’s epic action-fantasy. ...Legrand digs deeply into the need for (and power inherent in) connection and the friendships forged by shared adversity.”

“Claire Legrand’s fantastically spooky The Year of Shadows will keep you turning its pages well into the night, even though the floorboards are creaking and funny shapes lurk in the corner of your eye.”

“Charming and creepy… An enormously fun-and shivery-read.”

“Insidiously creepy, searingly sinister, and spine-tinglingly fun, this book also presents a powerful message about friendship and the value of individuality.”

THE YEAR OF SHADOWS: “Legrand has created a horror-tinged tale of triumph over loss and the destructive nature of hopelessness, that is full of well-rounded characters, a spooky gothic mood, and eerie glimpses into the past lives of the ghosts.”

“Snappy dialogue and creative fantasy elements-bloodthirsty unicorns, a dragon who collects teapots and is scared of ghosts-will delight seasoned fantasy readers, while the power of friendship between Girl and Fox gives the story depth.”

“The beating heart of the story...is the bond between Quicksilver and Fox...Those touched by the girl/wolf story in Rundell’s The Wolf Wilder will be drawn to the theme and find a similarly strange but successful mix of wit, pathos, and action here.”

“Legrand fills her story with magic, danger, and suspense, and places two fiery female protagonists at its helm. ...Give to readers looking to go on a fantastic adventure.”
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062427731
ISBN-10: 0062427733
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Publication Date: October 4th, 2016
Pages: 480
Language: English