Ask Me How I Got Here (Hardcover)

Ask Me How I Got Here Cover Image
$17.99
Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days

Description


How do you define yourself? By your friends? Your family? Your boyfriend? Your grades? Your trophies? Your choices? By a single choice? From the author of the acclaimed Poisoned Apples comes a novel in verse about a young woman and the aftermath of a life-altering decision. Fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Ellen Hopkins will find the powerful questions, the difficult truths, and the inner strength that speak to them in Ask Me How I Got Here.

Addie has always known what she was running toward, whether in cross country, in her all-girls Catholic school, or in love. Until she and her boyfriend—her sensitive, good-guy boyfriend—are careless one night, and she gets pregnant. Addie makes the difficult choice to have an abortion. And after that—even though she knows it was the right decision for her—nothing is the same. She doesn’t want anyone besides her parents and her boyfriend to know what happened; she doesn’t want to run cross country anymore; she can’t bring herself to be excited about anything. Until she reconnects with Juliana, a former teammate who’s going through her own dark places. Once again, Christine Heppermann writes with an unflinching honesty and a deep sensitivity about the complexities of being a teenager, being a woman. Her free verse poems are moving, provocative, and often full of wry humor and a sharp wit.

Praise For…


“Concise, passionate poems…Heppermann’s discerning and incisive verse elegantly conveys the heightened sensitivity and multilayered complexity of Addie’s emotions.”

“The spare yet meaningful verse shines, while the poems ascribed to Addie herself are particularly poignant. ...Teens mature enough to appreciate Heppermann’s subtlety will welcome this fresh, relatable novel that is bold enough to venture into relatively unexplored territory. …Standout.”

“[Addie’s] observations are thought-provoking, wry, and bitingly smart. With her vibrant voice and rich characterization, Addie easily outshines the “issues” in this remarkable verse novel.”

“The poetry is at times strikingly beautiful, as Addie reflects on her identification with Mary, works her way through her “cafeteria Catholicism,” and struggles to define her feelings toward the baby she chose not to have…a story with space for readers to fill in the gaps with their own interpretations.”

“This thought-provoking novel in verse is more about well-rounded Addie’s gratifying process of self-determination than her choice to end her pregnancy. This absorbing book would be an excellent choice for teen book groups.”

“Heppermann’s poetry is beautifully composed…thought-provoking.”
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062387950
ISBN-10: 0062387952
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Publication Date: May 3rd, 2016
Pages: 240
Language: English