Books We're Looking Forward To in 2019

We can't wait for the new releases 2019 will bring! There are many undiscovered treasures to be read, but in the meantime, here are a few 2019 books we just can't wait to share!

Inheritance: A Memoir of Genealogy, Paternity, and Love Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781524732714
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf - January 15th, 2019

This new memoir from Shapiro is part detective novel and part family history. It's all about finding a place where you belong after your life is turned upside down.

-Ülrika


The Remainder Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781566895507
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Coffee House Press - August 6th, 2019

A road trip of two young friends, Felipe and Iquela, in modern-day Chile that casts light on the past generations and the dictatorship. Darkly comic, sad and profound. With a brilliant translation by Sophie Hughes.

-Mark


Sweety Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525580003
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Schwartz & Wade - March 26th, 2019

In picture books, I can hardly wait for SWEETY by Andrea Zuill, the quirky and delightfully charming story of an awkward but lovable naked mole rat who is looking for her people and finding out that she is awesome.

-Joy


Staff Pick Badge
Lost Children Archive: A novel Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9780525520610
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - February 12th, 2019

Two professional archivists/sound recorders -- a documentarist and a documentarian -- set out on a road trip across the US with their two kids. This book is a meditation on loss, family, borders, and human rights that only Valeria Luiselli could accomplish.

-Sara


Staff Pick Badge
Sea Monsters Cover Image
$23.00
ISBN: 9781936787869
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Catapult - February 5th, 2019

A stunning and lyrical coming-of-age novel Mexico City, the 1980's, a young girl runs away from home with another boy to find a group of Ukrainian dwarves who have escaped a Russian circus. As strange as the plot may sound, this novel is moving and urgent and my favorite of Aridjis' three novels in English. Ideal for fans of Guadalupe Nettel and Roberto Bolaño.

-Mark


On the Come Up Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062498564
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - February 5th, 2019

Angie Thomas' second book comes out in February, and I cannot wait to see what she's got in store for us next!

-Cassie


Lot: Stories Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780525533672
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - March 19th, 2019

Finally, we have a seminal work of contemporary Houston literature! This is the book I can put into people's hands when they want to know what it's like to live in our city. What's more, it is a stunning story collection heralding a big new talent from Texas.

-Keaton


Figuring Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781524748135
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Pantheon - February 5th, 2019

I am beyond excited for Figuring by Maria Popova, which comes out in February. With the same boundless curiosity that makes her website and newsletter Brainpickings so fascinating, Popova examines the wildly different lives of several artists, writers, and scientists, from Emily Dickinson to Rachel Carson. From the lives of these fascinating people come questions about the universe, the search for knowledge, and what it means to live a meaningful life.

-Laura M


Song for a Whale Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781524770235
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Delacorte Books for Young Readers - February 5th, 2019

I'm really excited for the middle grade novel, SONG FOR A WHALE, by Lynne Kelly, coming on 2/5/19 from Delacorte. It's a luminous and triumphant story of a deaf girl's fascination with Blue 55, the loneliest whale in the world and her journey to find a way to communicate with him.

-Joy


Children of Virtue and Vengeance (Legacy of Orisha #2) Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250170996
Availability: Coming Soon - Pre-Order Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - December 3rd, 2019

The first book ended on such a cliffhanger; I need to know what happens next!!

-Cassie


Article Type Terms: