Summer Reading Ages 8 and Up

The Detective's Assistant Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780316403511
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 7th, 2015

Learn about Kate Warne, the first female detective in the United States, through the eyes of her niece, Nell, in this rousing historical treat. It’s 1859 Chicago, and Nell’s adventures with Aunt Kitty uncover historical mysteries, factoids, and intrigue. Pen pal ciphers, the Underground Railroad, kick-butt lady detectives, and a mystery surrounding Abraham Lincoln? You can’t beat that.


Frank Einstein and the Electro-Finger (Frank Einstein Series #2): Book Two Cover Image
By Jon Scieszka, Brian Biggs (Illustrator)
$13.95
ISBN: 9781419714832
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Amulet Books - March 17th, 2015

This series is a massive hit with our Brazos youngsters! Kid genius Frank Einstein stays with his Uncle Al and gets into all kinds of scientific mayhem. Each book in the series centers on a different scientific concept area, and boy, do they make science fun! Learn in the best possible way: through an exciting, silly, illustrated book! The first title in the series is [1] FRANK EINSTEIN AND THE ANTIMATTER MOTOR.


The Underground Abductor: An Abolitionist Tale about Harriet Tubman Cover Image
$12.95
ISBN: 9781419715365
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Amulet Books - April 21st, 2015

Nathan Hale’s Hazardous Tales bring history to life in fun, sensitive, and engaging graphic novels. The newest addition to the group is no exception. This book recounts a raid by Union soldiers in 1863 that freed a large number of slaves. The even cooler twist? It was planned by Harriet Tubman! Other titles in the non-chronological series are [1] BIG BAD IRONCLAD, [2] TREATIES, TRENCHES, MUD, AND BLOOD, [3] ONE DEAD SPY, and [4] DONNER DINNER PARTY.


The Island of Dr. Libris Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780385388443
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - March 24th, 2015

Characters in this book come alive...literally! From the much-beloved author of ESCAPE FROM MR. LEMONCELLO’S LIBRARY comes a story about summer camp on a mysterious island, where the elusive Dr. Libris tests out his ability to make fictional characters exist in the real world. Twelve-year-old Billy encounters a number of well-known book characters–some nice and some decidedly not-so-nice–in this zany, bibliophilic adventure.


The Imaginary Cover Image
By A. F. Harrold, Emily Gravett (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780802738110
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury U.S.A. Children's Books - March 3rd, 2015

Fans of Roald Dahl and Neil Gaiman will love this beautifully illustrated book about imaginary friends and the whimsical, sometimes dark worlds they create. When Amanda’s imaginary friend Rudger is threatened by an imaginary-friend-eater, Amanda’s belief in him is his only protection. This surprisingly emotional book resonates long after the final pages.


The Fog Diver Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062352934
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - May 26th, 2015

In a futuristic world consumed by poisonous white mist, thirteen-year-old Chess and his crew of young scavengers sail a rickety ship through the now-inhabited sky. When their beloved Mrs. E succumbs to fogsickness, they’ll stop at nothing to get her what she needs to survive. But what happens when evil Lord Kodoc discovers a secret about Chess that could change his life forever? A compelling and wholly original adventure novel perfect for middle grade readers.


The Meaning of Maggie Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9781452128764
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Chronicle Books - May 12th, 2015

Maggie is an outspoken, highly motivated, ambitious eleven-year-old with big plans for middle school and beyond. However, all her planning can’t do much to help her dad, who is wheelchair-bound due to MS. The book looks at Maggie’s family as a complex unit and her father’s disease as an important, but not all-encompassing, aspect of their lives. A really special book that’s just right for young readers and adults alike.


Nightingale's Nest Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781595146236
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Razorbill - January 29th, 2015

Little John’s life is really hard: his sister has died, his family is in a financial crisis, and he spends his free time helping his dad with his tree removal business. When he meets Gayle, a girl with a beautiful singing voice and a mysterious history, they become best friends. But when forced to make an impossible choice, how will Little John protect his family AND his friend?


The Boundless Cover Image
By Kenneth Oppel, Jim Tierney (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9781442472891
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - May 5th, 2015

Canadian railroad history meets traveling circus meets action-packed adventure, all with a follow-your-dreams twist in this thrill ride of a book. There’s something for everyone in Will Everett’s journey on the seven mile, 978-car luxury train called The Boundless, whether it’s fighting off swashbuckling rail robbers or navigating a difficult relationship with his father.


El Deafo Cover Image
$10.95
ISBN: 9781419712173
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Amulet Books - September 2nd, 2014

Cece Bell’s graphic novel memoir–about her partial hearing loss and the experience of elementary school friendships with a bulky hearing aid around her neck–is already a Brazos favorite. Her superhero alter-ego, El Deafo, celebrates her technologically enhanced hearing and brings a fantastic lightness to her difficult journey.


The Pirate Who's Afraid of Everything Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062313874
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - February 24th, 2015

Shivers is, as the title of this book suggests, afraid of everything, unlike his family of intimidatingly accomplished–and truly terrifying–pirates. Reluctant readers will love the silly story and illustrations in this seafaring tale, and parents will love the dry wit and complexity of the story. Plus, this is the first in a new series, so read it now and be ahead of the trend!


The League of Beastly Dreadfuls, Book 1 Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780385370073
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - April 28th, 2015

Reminiscent of A Series of Unfortunate Events, this book tells the story of Anastasia, an orphan who is whisked away to a former insane asylum after her parents die in a tragic vacuum cleaner accident. Her time with the two wardens–I mean aunties–who run the home is full of eerie and dark humor that will delight fans of Roald Dahl. The text features witty asides to the reader and more zany, suspenseful twists than you can imagine.


Article Type Terms: