The Realists

Article by liz

The Realists are the kids who love to play pretend--but as a firefighter or a doctor, never those silly wizards or fairies. Stories about real people and real problems are the best way to keep these kids engaged, and they’re big fans of Big Nate, Wonder, or John Green. They love a great story about friendship, self-reliance, or finding your path. They probably have about ten extracurricular activities. For these old souls who like to escape into someone else’s head, try these thoughtful picture books, down-to-earth protagonists, and stories of ordinary people in extraordinary circumstances.

The White Book: A Minibombo Book Cover Image
$14.00
ISBN: 9780763681074
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - August 25th, 2015

With its high-contrast illustrations and interactive story, this sweet wordless picture book is perfect for reading to the youngest members of the family! Ages 2 and up.


The Wonder Cover Image
By Faye Hanson, Faye Hanson (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780763679576
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Templar Books - September 8th, 2015

This jaw-droppingly gorgeous picture book not only captures the beauty of imagination, it shows what a strong imagination can help kids achieve. Great for inspiring your youngest daydreamers to action! Ages 3 and up.


The Color Monster: A Pop-Up Book of Feelings Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781454917298
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Sterling Children's Books - September 1st, 2015

Loved Inside Out? This pop-up book of feelings is an adorable take on emotions personified. Ages 3 and up.


Sometimes I Feel Like a Fox Cover Image
By Danielle Daniel (Illustrator)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781554987504
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Groundwood Books - August 11th, 2015

This charming and unexpected picture book from Canadian Aboriginal artist Danielle Daniel shows children exploring their totem animals, and explains the traditions of Daniel’s tribe in the afterword. Perfect for kids who love animals--or love pretending to be animals! Ages 4 and up.


The Wonder Garden: Wander Through 5 Habitats to Discover 80 Amazing Animals Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781847807038
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Wide Eyed Editions - September 3rd, 2015

This lushly-illustrated exhibit book takes readers on a tour through animal habitats--a zoo and museum in one! A great tool to explore with kids or for them to grow with. Ages 7 and up.


The Doldrums Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062320940
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Greenwillow Books - September 29th, 2015

This funny and inventive story of a boy who craves adventure--but can’t leave his house--is perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket’s dry humor. Plus, the illustrated plates in this debut novel add a fantastic touch. Ages 8 and up.


George Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780545812542
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - August 25th, 2015

George’s biggest dream is to be Charlotte in the school play of Charlotte’s Web, but the teacher says a boy can’t play Charlotte. Thing is, George isn’t a boy on the inside. This sweet and funny story about a transgender middle-schooler perfectly captures the magic of everyday life. Ages 8 and up.


Everything, Everything Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780553496642
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Delacorte Press - September 1st, 2015

A girl who’s (literally) allergic to the world falls for the boy next door, who she can only see through her window. Told in vignettes, illustrations, and diary entries, this unique YA romance is perfect for John Green fans looking for something new. Ages 12 and up.


The Distance from Me to You Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780399173233
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - October 20th, 2015

Two teens fall in love--and get lost--hiking the Appalachian trail. No fake drama here: this edge-of-your-seat story has very real dangers in its pages. Ages 12 and up.


Dumplin' Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062327185
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen - September 15th, 2015

Willowdean, proud resident fat girl of her small Texas town, falls out with her best friend, falls in love, fights with her mom, and finds her inner Dolly Parton in this hilarious, heartfelt, truest-to-life-I’ve-ever-read story. Ages 14 and up.


The Rest of Us Just Live Here Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062403162
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Teen - October 6th, 2015

The regular kids in a school full of superheroes and Chosen Ones just try to get by, in this new novel from actual YA superhero Patrick Ness. Perfect for kids with superhero fatigue, or anyone who just wants to feel normal. Ages 14 and up.


The Scorpion Rules Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481442718
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - September 22nd, 2015

In the near future, the children of world leaders are held hostage--by the United Nations, to keep their quarrelsome parents from starting any wars. This brand-new duology is guaranteed to sate Divergent or Hunger Games cravings! Ages 14 and up.


Article Type Terms: