Fiction Addict

The Fiction Addict is basically like us--fiction all the time; reads from both big and small presses; always looking for the next life changing novel or story; fiction is our forte and this list should rock

A Map of Betrayal Cover Image
By Ha Jin
$26.95
ISBN: 9780307911605
Availability: Special Order - Subject to Availability
Published: Pantheon Books - November 4th, 2014

A Chinese-American woman confronts the history of her estranged father after his death, discovering his life as an imprisoned spy. In the wake of this knowledge, where do her national allegiances lie: to America, or to China? A great psychological page-turner that dramatizes a common immigrant experience: the feeling of being pulled between two countries.


Last Winter, We Parted Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9781616954550
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Soho Press - October 21st, 2014

A young writer goes to interview a notorious murderer—a photographer accused of burning to death two models—before his impending execution. The relationship that forms between interviewer and subject recalls The Silence of the Lambs, but with even more depravity, cruelty, and obsession. Make no mistake: this is a dark book. But it’s tailor-made for strong-stomached fans of edgy fiction.


Staff Pick Logo
The David Foster Wallace Reader Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9780316182393
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Little Brown and Company - November 11th, 2014

No contemporary author has cast a longer shadow over American fiction than David Foster Wallace. With this collection of the master’s work, it’s clear why. Inventive, funny, erudite, heartbreaking, Wallace’s fiction and essays are indispensable, and this volume gathers his best work (and some previously unpublished syllabi). For Wallace fans, and also for newcomers ready to dive in.


Nora Webster Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781439138335
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Scribner Book Company - October 7th, 2014

Poor Nora Webster—at least, so says everyone in the small Irish town where she lives. Recently widowed at forty-six, Nora struggles emotionally and financially to take care of herself and her family, returning to work for the first time in years. But in this highly readable novel, there’s ultimately nothing poor about Nora. Despite the tragic premise, this is a story of hope and optimism—perfect for fiction fans looking for a serious but redemptive read.


10:04 Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780865478107
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - September 2nd, 2014

In the wake of Hurricane Sandy, a poet in New York City struggles with his work, his romantic life, and his health. Blurring the line between fact and fiction, Lerner’s novel delights readers with its whimsy and beauty. A smarty pants book with a sense of humor; the young, romantic writer in your life will love it!


A Brief History of Seven Killings Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781594486005
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Riverhead Books - October 2nd, 2014

1970s Jamaica: a time and place not too far removed from us. Against a historical backdrop, James tells a gripping story about the tumultuous aftereffects of political violence. The characters range from CIA agents to ghosts. Epic, vulgar, and inventive, this novel is a new classic of historical fiction. Anyone who fills up shelves with thick, ambitious books will relish this one!


The King Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9780811223737
Availability: Special Order - Subject to Availability
Published: New Directions Publishing Corporation - September 9th, 2014

Sometimes it isn’t so good to be the king. Just ask the title character of this historical novel, a Persian monarch in the 1800s who sits in the throne as the world changes around him. A story of a powerful though small-minded man confronting modernization, colonialism, industrialization, you name it. This relevant, lyrical novel is perfect for fans of historical fiction and also international affairs.


The Assassination of Margaret Thatcher: Stories Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781627792103
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Henry Holt & Company - September 30th, 2014

No, this isn’t the third installment in the Thomas Cromwell trilogy, but that doesn’t mean Mantel doesn’t weave equally enthralling tales in her short stories. In this book, the plots are twisty and the humor is pitch black. Consider one piece called “Comma,” about a mystery person wrapped in a blanket and the cruel, surreal attempts of two young girls to get the figure to talk. It’s strange, funny, sad, and distinctive. For fans of eerie short fiction.


A Little Lumpen Novelita Cover Image
By Roberto Bolano, Natasha Wimmer (Translator)
$19.95
ISBN: 9780811223355
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: New Directions Publishing Corporation - September 16th, 2014

In the exotic setting of Rome, an orphaned brother and sister turn to a life of crime and get into trouble with a blind ex-bodybuilder who may have riches stashed inside his house. An accessible and beautifully written novella that moves with the velocity of a thriller. Anyone in the cult of Bolaño will love this book, but it’s also a great place to first wade into the author’s ocean of an output.


The Paying Guests Cover Image
$28.95
ISBN: 9781594633119
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Riverhead Books - September 16th, 2014

After World War II, a British woman and her daughter take in two boarders: a husband and a wife. Soon, this act of hospitality descends into a tempestuous love affair, and eventually murder. A historical novel, but one narrow in scope—an intensely focused character study set against shifting times. Aficionados of British history and lovers of lurid romances will delight in this sexy tale.


Indigo Cover Image
By Clemens J. Setz, Ross Benjamin (Translator)
$27.95
ISBN: 9780871402684
Availability: Special Order - Subject to Availability
Published: Liveright Publishing Corporation - November 3rd, 2014

It’s called “Indigo syndrome,” and it causes anyone who comes in contact with an afflicted person to become suddenly nauseated. Where has this syndrome come from? And what is the reason behind the mysterious relocation of several ill children? A haunting, paranoid, and utterly absorbing novel. Fans of Thomas Pynchon, Don DeLillo, and David Foster Wallace will love it.


F Cover Image
By Daniel Kehlmann, Carol Janeway (Translator)
$25.95
ISBN: 9780307911810
Availability: Special Order - Subject to Availability
Published: Pantheon Books - August 26th, 2014

In the first chapter, a German hypnotist ruins a family, and if that isn’t a hook, I don’t know what is. In this book, each character—a priest who doesn’t believe in God, an art forger, a white-collar criminal—is a phony, struggling with various forms of midlife crisis. A satirical novel about the bonds of family and the lengths people go to appear happy—perfect for lovers of literary fiction about complex characters.


Article Type Terms: