The Deep Thinker

The Deep Thinker lives the life of the mind; will shop across the sections--philosophy, poetry, essays, fiction, culture, science--but is always looking for the most challenging, intellectual reads 

By the Book: Writers on Literature and the Literary Life from the New York Times Book Review Cover Image
By Pamela Paul (Editor), Scott Turow (Foreword by)
$28.00
ISBN: 9781627791458
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Henry Holt & Company - October 28th, 2014

BY THE BOOK collects all the best author interviews from the extremely popular column appearing in the New York Times Book Review every week. Authors include Neil Gaiman, Jeffrey Eugenides, Jhumpa Lahiri, James McBride, and many more! Every obsessive reader loves the NYT Book Review, and BY THE BOOK is sure to be a hit this holiday season.


River of Ink: Literature, History, Art Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781619024267
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Counterpoint LLC - December 1st, 2014

RIVER OF INK is a global history of the ways the literary and visual arts have affected human culture for millennia. Spanning from ancient to contemporary times and filled with a bevy of astonishing full-color images, these essays range from the 1258 sacking of Baghdad when the Tigris ran black with the ink of destroyed books to the culture of book reviewing today. RIVER OF INK will intrigue anyone interested in art, world history or cultural studies. One of this year's hidden gems!


On Immunity: An Inoculation Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9781555976897
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Graywolf Press - September 30th, 2014

Eula Biss’s essays about the immunization debate range from the personal to the body politic and back again. Drawing on her experiences as a mother and an astonishing diversity of sources, Biss plumbs our ancient fear of infection. Biss’s precise language and wry humor make ON IMMUNITY a fine collection, as engaging as it is informative. It's a great gift for readers of science and culture.


Prelude to Bruise Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781566893749
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Coffee House Press - September 9th, 2014

A blistering debut collection from one of the hottest young poets working today, PRELUDE TO BRUISE is seriously good stuff. Buzzfeed LGBT editor, Saeed Jones, explores our relationship to race, sexuality and identity through 53 subtly devasting poems. The title poem alone is worth the price of admission. Make the holidays for the poetry lover in your life with PRELUDE TO BRUISE.


The Quest for a Moral Compass: A Global History of Ethics Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781612194035
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Melville House Publishing - September 2nd, 2014

THE QUEST FOR A MORAL COMPASS is a 3000-year exploration of ethical thought, from Hellenic Greece and Maoist China to ancient India and modern America. Noted intellectual and cultural critic, Kenan Malik, takes on heavy questions about right and wrong, focusing on how morality has evolved across time and cultures. At times controversial and provocative, THE QUEST FOR A MORAL COMPASS is definitely for the deep-thinker. A great gift idea for readers with an interest in philosophy, religion and world history.


Event: A Philosophical Journey Through a Concept Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781612194110
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Melville House Publishing - August 26th, 2014

The world's most popular and controversial living philosopher, Slavoj Zizek, presents his most accessible text to date. Exploring the ways unforseen and apocalyptic changes in personal and public life forever alter our understanding of the world and ourselves, EVENT is the perfect introduction to this challenging thinker. But it won't disappoint long-time acolytes either. If you're shopping for a reader who's always searching for the underlying causes behind world events, look no further than EVENT!


The Lagoon: How Aristotle Invented Science Cover Image
$29.95
ISBN: 9780670026746
Availability: Special Order - Subject to Availability
Published: Viking Books - September 25th, 2014

Every one knows Aristotle as a heavyweight of Western thought, but THE LAGOON points out that, in his break with Plato, he became the first biologist and the inventor of science as a field of study. Exploring both Aristotle's astonishing discoveries and spectacular misconceptions, THE LAGOON is a highly entertaining and peculiar science biography. A great gift idea for people interested in science and history.


The Encyclopedia of Trouble and Spaciousness Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9781595341983
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Trinity University Press - October 28th, 2014

A new collection of essays by Rebecca Solnit is always an event, and THE ENCYLOPEDIA OF TROUBLE AND SPACIOUSNESS is her most ambitious and sprawling offer yet. Covering numerous subjects, from climate change and revolution to communication technologies and Thoreau's laundry, Solnit's immitable style and piercing insight are on full display in this firecracker of a book. It's the perfect read for any creative nonfiction enthusiast.


The Meaning of Human Existence Cover Image
$23.95
ISBN: 9780871401007
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Liveright Publishing Corporation - October 1st, 2014

Pulitzer Prize-winning biologist, Edward O. Wilson, takes on huge philosophical questions and flies in the face of a purely mechanical worldview to get at what makes humans different from other animals in THE MEANING OF HUMAN EXISTENCE. Wilson's books are always highly informative, well-written and likely to stir up controversy. THE MEANING OF HUMAN EXISTENCE is no different! Readers of science and philosophy will devour it.


What We See When We Read Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780804171632
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Vintage Books - August 5th, 2014

WHAT WE SEE WHEN WE READ is a beautiful, uniquely designed book exploring the myriad ways in which readers experience what they're reading. Full of fascinating cut-and-paste style art that helps illustrate Mendelsund's lucid ideas on reader collaboration and synesthesia, WHAT WE SEE WHEN WE READ will instantly appeal to lovers of fiction, culture, literary criticism, and graphic design.


Wittgenstein Jr Cover Image
$23.95
ISBN: 9781612193762
Availability: Special Order - Subject to Availability
Published: Melville House Publishing - September 2nd, 2014

A ruminative book of ideas in the form of a hilarious university coming-of-age farce, Iyer's latest novel, WITTGENSTEIN JR, revolves around a morose philosophy professor and his disillusioned students who are trying to reconcile the life of the mind with the harsh realities waiting for the after graduation. Comical high-jinks and profound insights abound! WITTGENSTEIN JR is the smartest and funniest novel you'll read this year.


A Girl Is a Half-Formed Thing Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9781566893688
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Coffee House Press - September 9th, 2014

This stylistically daring novel charts the disturbing experiences of a damaged woman in broken yet emotionally-laden prose that will stay with you long after you turn the last page. A GIRL IS A HALF-FORMED THING took almost a decade to publish, but when it was, it became one of the most critically acclaimed novels of the year. A true Irish, avant-garde masterpiece. This is challenging, high-brow literature at its best. Perfect for fans of Mary Gaitskill and Samuel Beckett.


Article Type Terms: