Kids Holiday Catalog: Timely and Thought-Provoking

Her Right Foot Cover Image
By Dave Eggers, Shawn Harris (Artist)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781452162812
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Chronicle Books - September 19th, 2017

A non-fiction picture by Dave Eggers about the Statue of Liberty? Yes please. Perfect for all ages, Eggers explores the iconic statue, focusing on why she’s depicted mid-stride, moving forward. The ending is guaranteed to bring good tears to your eyes. A wonderful gift for everyone on your list.


Long Way Down Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481438254
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum Books - October 24th, 2017

The prolific Jason Reynolds offers up an unforgettable and intense YA drama--in verse no less! A stark morality tale taking place in 60 seconds, LONG WAY DOWN is also a tremendous psychological thriller and even a ghost story that nevertheless remains firmly rooted in the very real issue of youth violence. A thought-provoking and hip work from the reigning king of young people's literature, give this book to give the mature teen reader on your list this year.


Moxie Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781626726352
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Roaring Brook Press - September 19th, 2017

When Vivian Carter gets fed up with the rampant sexism and misogyny at her small town Texas high school, she fights back by taking a page from her mother’s old Riot Grrrl zine-making days and makes and anonymously distributes a protest zine… and starts a feminist revolution. Already optioned for a film by Amy Poehler, Mathieu’s latest is funny and fiercely girl positive and most of all joyful. A great read for teens and adults, perfect for book clubs and pretty much everyone! Plus Mathieu is a Houston author, journalist, and English teacher at Bellaire High School!


Turtles All the Way Down Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780525555360
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - October 10th, 2017

Green’s first novel since THE FAULT IN OUR STARS is a tour de force-- a bit of mystery, a bit of romance, a lot of characteristic witty, philosophical dialogue and a serious look at mental illness as protagonist Aza struggles with spiraling thoughts, friendship, and her own grief at the death of her father, all while falling for a boy who she may not be able to help or love. A solid read for teens and adults, Green’s latest is definitely a crossover YA/Adult title.


The Closest I've Come Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062488534
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Teen - November 7th, 2017

Marcos Rivas wants to get away from his neighborhood, his uncaring mom and her abusive boyfriend. He wants a life different from the one he has. But being true to yourself isn’t easy, nor is discovering the realities of that world he’s been longing for. A moving and wonderfully debut YA novel, perfect for fans of Walter Dean Meyers.


Article Type Terms: