Fiction - In Store

Josefine Klougart - ONE OF US IS SLEEPING

One of Us Is Sleeping Cover Image
By Josefine Klougart, Martin Aitken (Translator)
$15.95
ISBN: 9781940953373
Availability: Coming Soon - Pre-Order Now
Published: Open Letter Books - July 12th, 2016

The English-language debut from one of Denmark's most exciting, celebrated young writers, ONE OF US IS SLEEPING is a haunting novel about loss in all its forms.

Working in the vein of Anne Carson, Josefine Klougart's novel is both true-to-life and incredibly poetic in its relating of a brief, intense love affair and the grief and disillusionment that follow its end. While she recounts the time with her lover, the narrator is also heading back home, where her mother is dying of cancer. This contrast between recollection and the belief that certain things will always be present in your life your parents, your childhood home, your love and the fact that life is a continual series of endings runs throughout the book, underpinning the striking imagery and magnificent prose.

A powerful novel that earned Klougart numerous accolades and several award nominations including the Readers Book Award ONE OF US IS SLEEPING marks the launch of a major new voice in world literature.


Ross Ritchell - THE KNIFE

The Knife Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780147517753
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Blue Rider Press - February 2nd, 2016

A powerful, dark, and morally provocative debut novel about a U.S. Special Forces unit operating in the Middle East, written by a former soldier NO EASY DAY meets REDEPLOYMENT

It's hot and getting hotter this summer in Afghanipakiraqistan the preferred name for the ambiguous stretch of the world where the U.S. Special Forces operate with little outside attention. Team Leader Dutch Shaw is missing his late grandmother. She was the last link he had to civilian life, to any kind of world of innocence.

But there's no time to mourn. After two helicopters in a sister squadron are shot down, Shaw and his team know that they re going to be spun up and sent back in, deep into insurgent territory, where a mysterious new organization called Al Ayeelaa has been attracting high-value targets from across the region. As Shaw and his men fight their way closer to the source, mission by mission, they begin to realize that their way may have been prepared for them in advance, and not by a welcoming host.

THE KNIFE is a debut novel of intense authenticity by a former soldier in a United States Special Operations Command direct-action team. As scenes of horseshoes and horseplay cut to dim Ambien-soaked trips in helicopters and beyond, Ritchell's story takes us deep beneath the testosterone-laced patter into the lonelier, more ambivalent world of military life in the Middle East. The result is a fast-paced journey into darkness; a quintessential novel of the American wars of the twenty-first century.


Will Everett - WE'LL LIVE TOMORROW

We'll Live Tomorrow Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9780996287104
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Galatea Press - October 15th, 2015

Two lost souls strike up an unusual friendship in war-torn Afghanistan. Karimullah is looking for sanctuary after years of exploitation at the hands of a violent master. Hunter Ames, a middle-aged aid worker grappling with his own tragic past, sets out to rescue him. But malevolent forces shadow their escape, bringing a lesson of redemption and a confrontation with pure evil.


Nancy Stancill - WINNING TEXAS

Winning Texas Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781612966830
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Black Rose Writing - May 2nd, 2016

When a female body is found floating in the Houston Ship Channel, Annie Price, an investigative journalist for a struggling Houston newspaper, is propelled into a dangerous web of intrigue. She must solve a complex mystery that includes a corrupt strip club empire, a ruthless human trafficking scheme, and deadly competition between two separatist groups seeking to impose their twisted visions on the Lone Star State. As two murders hit close to home, Annie and a fellow reporter risk death to expose the hidden secrets of a Texas ranch.


Jesse Donaldson - THE MORE THEY DISAPPEAR

The More They Disappear Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250050229
Availability: Coming Soon - Pre-Order Now
Published: Thomas Dunne Books - August 2nd, 2016

When long-serving Kentucky sheriff Lew Mattock is murdered by a confused, drug-addicted teenager, chief deputy Harlan Dupee is tasked with solving the crime.

But as Harlan soon discovers, his former boss wasn't exactly an innocent.

The investigation throws Harlan headlong into the burgeoning OxyContin trade, from the slanted steps of trailer parks to the manicured porches of prominent citizens, from ATV parks and tobacco farms to riverboat casinos and country clubs.

As the evidence draws him closer to his unlikely suspect, Harlan comes to question whether the law can even right a wrong during the corrupt and violent years that followed the release of OxyContin.

Jesse Donaldson's debut novel THE MORE THEY DISAPPEAR takes us to the front lines of the battle against small-town drug abuse. It is an unnerving tale of addiction, loss, and the battle to overcome the darkest parts of ourselves.


Paul Luikart - ANIMAL HEART

Animal Heart: Stories by Paul Luikart Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781988292007
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Hyperborea Publishing - May 3rd, 2016

Jung Young-Moon - A CONTRIVED WORLD

A Contrived World Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781564789556
Availability: Coming Soon - Pre-Order Now
Published: Dalkey Archive Press - June 24th, 2016

Set in San Francisco, A CONTRIVED WORLD recounts the author's visit to the mythic Californian city. While the novel is based in this real experience, the narrator's imaginative reflections cause the narrative to balloon outward into the realms of fiction and fantasy. Each chance encounter provides an opportunity to unfurl a fictional world that simultaneously complements and compromises the real world. In this mirthful anti-novel, the ambiguous fusion of observation and invention disrupts the conventions of personal memoir and travel writing, resulting in a chronicle that sets fiction against experience.

About the Author
Novelist, short-story writer, translator, playwright, and teacher, Jung Young-moon was born in Hamyang, South Korea, in 1965. He graduated from Seoul National University with a degree in psychology. He made his literary debut in 1996 with his novel A MAN WHO BARELY EXISTS. He has also translated more than forty English books into Korean.


Gabriel Blackwell - MADELEINE E.

Madeleine E. Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781937402945
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Outpost19 - June 2016

A commonplace book, arranging works of criticism looking at Alfred Hitchcock's Vertigo with fragments of memoir/fiction. Presented first as random notes on watching Hitchcock, the fragments soon take up multiple narratives and threads and, like a classic Hitchcock movie, present competing realities. Fragments from a dizzying list of authors, from Truffaut to Philip K. Dick and Geoff Dyer to Bruno Schultz, are meticulously arranged in a fascinating, multilayered reading experience.


Yvonne Georgina Puig - A WIFE OF NOBLE CHARACTER

A Wife of Noble Character Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781627795555
Availability: Coming Soon - Pre-Order Now
Published: Henry Holt & Company - August 2nd, 2016

A juicy, sprawling comedy of manners about a group of thirtysomethings stumbling into adulthood among Houston's high-powered, oil money elite

Thirty-year-old Vivienne Cally is wealthy in name only. Orphaned as a child and raised by a cold but regal aunt, Vivienne was taught to rely on her beauty and Texas tradition, and is expected to marry a wealthy and respectable man who will honor the Cally name. Friends with Houston's most prominent families, she's a beloved fixture at social events, and suffers no shortage of access to the city's most eligible bachelors. Preston Duffin has known Vivienne and her set since childhood, though he's never shared their social aspirations or status. About to graduate from a prestigious architecture program, he is both fascinated and repelled by this group of friends he sits on the cusp of, one that shares none of his curiosity about the world beyond Houston. He's long admired Vivienne's beauty, but isn't sure he holds any place in so traditional a life. Intrigued by the extent to which Preston challenges the only way of life she's ever known, Vivienne both courts his attention, and rebuffs his critiques of her antiquated values. Inspired by Edith Wharton's The House of Mirth, A WIFE OF NOBLE CHARACTERS shares the original novel's sharp social commentary at the same time that it illuminates the trappings and rewards of coming-of-age that are wholly unique to the twenty-first century. Part biting wit, part good old-fashioned love story, it takes readers from Texas to Paris and Switzerland and back again, and will charm both fans of Wharton and anyone who has ever struggled to find their path in life.


Kelly Seiler - THE PLAN

The Plan Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781593096700
Availability: Coming Soon - Pre-Order Now
Published: Strebor Books - September 20th, 2016

A dynamic and heartwarming love story between two individuals with seemingly little in common: a woman who is left alone after the deaths of her husband and children and a trilateral amputee on the other side of the globe. Claire Matthews entire world the one she shared with her husband and three children shattered into a million pieces on a dark, winter road the day after Christmas. The only survivor of a brutal car crash that claimed the life of her entire family, she struggles to find a reason to wake up each morning.

On the other side of the Atlantic, Irishman Callum Fitzgerald's actual birth was deemed a tragedy. Born a trilateral amputee, no one expected his life to amount to anything. Now in his thirties, Callum has defied the odds. Victorious over his own limitations, he's built a life and a career around encouraging others to find a purpose for their pain. He assures the tens of thousands who flock from all around the world to hear his inspirational message that nothing occurs by happenstance; there's always a greater plan.

Claire and Callum. Two individuals with seemingly little in common. Separated by years, physical abilities, and half a world. Yet, their lives unexpectedly converge, thus beginning a love story so profound and enduring, it turns the darkest tragedies into spectacular triumphs.


Pages