Fiction - In Store

Lex Williford - SUPERMAN ON THE ROOF

A concise and compelling novella-in-flash spanning decades from the 1960s to the present, Lex Williford’s SUPERMAN ON THE ROOF offers an elegiac coming-of-age tale and a Texas family portrait imbued with tragedy, guilt, grief, and forgiveness. The arguments, injustices, and triumphs of childhood echo into the adult world in unforgettable detail in these short, powerful stories.

Ananda Devi - EVE OUT OF HER RUINS

Presented in partnership with the Cultural Services of the French Embassy

Eve Out of Her Ruins Cover Image
By Ananda Devi, Jeffrey Zuckerman (Translator), J. M. G. Le Clezio (Introduction by)
$14.95
ISBN: 9781941920404
Availability: Coming Soon - Pre-Order Now
Published: Deep Vellum Publishing - September 13th, 2016

EVE OUT OF HER RUINS is a heartbreaking look at the dark corners of the island nation of Mauritius that tourists never see, and a poignant exploration of the construction of personhood at the margins of society. Awarded the prestigious Prix des cinq continents upon publication as the best book written in French outside of France, EVE OUT OF HER RUINS is a harrowing account of the violent reality of life in her native country by the figurehead of Mauritian literature.

The book features an original introduction by Nobel Prize winner J.M.G. Le Clezio, who declares Devi "a truly great writer."


Rafi Mittlefehldt - IT LOOKS LIKE THIS

It Looks Like This Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780763687199
Availability: Coming Soon - Pre-Order Now
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - September 6th, 2016

In spare, understated prose heightened by a keen lyricism, a debut author will take your breath away.

A new state, a new city, a new high school. Mike's father has already found a new evangelical church for the family to attend, even if Mike and his plainspoken little sister, Toby, don't want to go. Dad wants Mike to ditch art for sports, to toughen up, but there's something uneasy behind his demands. Then Mike meets Sean, the new kid, and "hey" becomes games of basketball, partnering on a French project, hanging out after school. A night at the beach. The fierce colors of sunrise. But Mike's father is always watching. And so is Victor from school, cell phone in hand.

In guarded, Carveresque prose that propels you forward with a sense of stomach-dropping inevitability, Rafi Mittlefehldt tells a wrenching tale of first love and loss that exposes the undercurrents of a tidy suburban world. Heartbreaking and ultimately life-affirming, IT LOOKS LIKE THIS is a novel of love and family and forgiveness not just of others, but of yourself.


Josefine Klougart - ONE OF US IS SLEEPING

One of Us Is Sleeping Cover Image
By Josefine Klougart, Martin Aitken (Translator)
$15.95
ISBN: 9781940953373
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Open Letter Books - July 12th, 2016

The English-language debut from one of Denmark's most exciting, celebrated young writers, ONE OF US IS SLEEPING is a haunting novel about loss in all its forms.

Working in the vein of Anne Carson, Josefine Klougart's novel is both true-to-life and incredibly poetic in its relating of a brief, intense love affair and the grief and disillusionment that follow its end. While she recounts the time with her lover, the narrator is also heading back home, where her mother is dying of cancer. This contrast between recollection and the belief that certain things will always be present in your life your parents, your childhood home, your love and the fact that life is a continual series of endings runs throughout the book, underpinning the striking imagery and magnificent prose.

A powerful novel that earned Klougart numerous accolades and several award nominations including the Readers Book Award ONE OF US IS SLEEPING marks the launch of a major new voice in world literature.


Ross Ritchell - THE KNIFE

The Knife Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780147517753
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Blue Rider Press - February 2nd, 2016

A powerful, dark, and morally provocative debut novel about a U.S. Special Forces unit operating in the Middle East, written by a former soldier NO EASY DAY meets REDEPLOYMENT

It's hot and getting hotter this summer in Afghanipakiraqistan the preferred name for the ambiguous stretch of the world where the U.S. Special Forces operate with little outside attention. Team Leader Dutch Shaw is missing his late grandmother. She was the last link he had to civilian life, to any kind of world of innocence.

But there's no time to mourn. After two helicopters in a sister squadron are shot down, Shaw and his team know that they re going to be spun up and sent back in, deep into insurgent territory, where a mysterious new organization called Al Ayeelaa has been attracting high-value targets from across the region. As Shaw and his men fight their way closer to the source, mission by mission, they begin to realize that their way may have been prepared for them in advance, and not by a welcoming host.

THE KNIFE is a debut novel of intense authenticity by a former soldier in a United States Special Operations Command direct-action team. As scenes of horseshoes and horseplay cut to dim Ambien-soaked trips in helicopters and beyond, Ritchell's story takes us deep beneath the testosterone-laced patter into the lonelier, more ambivalent world of military life in the Middle East. The result is a fast-paced journey into darkness; a quintessential novel of the American wars of the twenty-first century.


Will Everett - WE'LL LIVE TOMORROW

We'll Live Tomorrow Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9780996287104
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Galatea Press - October 15th, 2015

Two lost souls strike up an unusual friendship in war-torn Afghanistan. Karimullah is looking for sanctuary after years of exploitation at the hands of a violent master. Hunter Ames, a middle-aged aid worker grappling with his own tragic past, sets out to rescue him. But malevolent forces shadow their escape, bringing a lesson of redemption and a confrontation with pure evil.


Nancy Stancill - WINNING TEXAS

Winning Texas Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781612966830
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Black Rose Writing - May 2nd, 2016

When a female body is found floating in the Houston Ship Channel, Annie Price, an investigative journalist for a struggling Houston newspaper, is propelled into a dangerous web of intrigue. She must solve a complex mystery that includes a corrupt strip club empire, a ruthless human trafficking scheme, and deadly competition between two separatist groups seeking to impose their twisted visions on the Lone Star State. As two murders hit close to home, Annie and a fellow reporter risk death to expose the hidden secrets of a Texas ranch.


Jesse Donaldson - THE MORE THEY DISAPPEAR

The More They Disappear Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250050229
Availability: Coming Soon - Pre-Order Now
Published: Thomas Dunne Books - August 2nd, 2016

When long-serving Kentucky sheriff Lew Mattock is murdered by a confused, drug-addicted teenager, chief deputy Harlan Dupee is tasked with solving the crime.

But as Harlan soon discovers, his former boss wasn't exactly an innocent.

The investigation throws Harlan headlong into the burgeoning OxyContin trade, from the slanted steps of trailer parks to the manicured porches of prominent citizens, from ATV parks and tobacco farms to riverboat casinos and country clubs.

As the evidence draws him closer to his unlikely suspect, Harlan comes to question whether the law can even right a wrong during the corrupt and violent years that followed the release of OxyContin.

Jesse Donaldson's debut novel THE MORE THEY DISAPPEAR takes us to the front lines of the battle against small-town drug abuse. It is an unnerving tale of addiction, loss, and the battle to overcome the darkest parts of ourselves.


Paul Luikart - ANIMAL HEART

Animal Heart: Stories by Paul Luikart Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781988292007
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Hyperborea Publishing - May 3rd, 2016

Jung Young-Moon - A CONTRIVED WORLD

A Contrived World Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781564789556
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dalkey Archive Press - June 24th, 2016

Set in San Francisco, A CONTRIVED WORLD recounts the author's visit to the mythic Californian city. While the novel is based in this real experience, the narrator's imaginative reflections cause the narrative to balloon outward into the realms of fiction and fantasy. Each chance encounter provides an opportunity to unfurl a fictional world that simultaneously complements and compromises the real world. In this mirthful anti-novel, the ambiguous fusion of observation and invention disrupts the conventions of personal memoir and travel writing, resulting in a chronicle that sets fiction against experience.

About the Author
Novelist, short-story writer, translator, playwright, and teacher, Jung Young-moon was born in Hamyang, South Korea, in 1965. He graduated from Seoul National University with a degree in psychology. He made his literary debut in 1996 with his novel A MAN WHO BARELY EXISTS. He has also translated more than forty English books into Korean.


Pages