Fiction - In Store

Samantha Hunt - THE DARK DARK & Joe Hagan - STICKY FINGERS

This event is presented in partnership with the University of Houston Creative Writing Program.

The Dark Dark: Stories Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780374282134
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Fsg Originals - July 18th, 2017

The acclaimed novelist Samantha Hunt's first collection of stories blends the literary and the fantastic and brings us characters on the verge girls turning into women, women turning into deer, people doubling or becoming ghosts, and more.

Strange things happen all around us all the time, but is it best to acknowledge or to turn away from moments when the weird pokes its way into our ordinary lives?

In these marvelously inventive stories, Samantha Hunt imagines numerous ways in which lives might be altered by the otherworldly. An FBI agent falls in love with a robot built for a suicide mission. A young woman unintentionally cheats on her husband when she is transformed, nightly, into a deer. Two strangers become lovers and find themselves somehow responsible for the resurrection of a dog. A woman tries to start her life anew after the loss of a child but cannot help riddling that new life with lies. Thirteen pregnant teenagers develop a strange relationship with the Founding Fathers of American history. A lonely woman's fertility treatments become the stuff of science fiction.

Magic intrudes. Technology betrays and disappoints. Infidelities lead us beyond the usual conflict. Our bodies change, reproduce, decay, and surprise. With her characteristic unguarded gaze and offbeat humor, Hunt has conjured stories that urge an understanding of youth and mortality, magnification and loss, and hold out the hope that we can know one another more deeply or at least stand side by side to observe the mystery of the world.


Samantha Hunt's novel about Nikola Tesla, The Invention of Everything Else, was a finalist for the Orange Prize and winner of the Bard Fiction Prize. Her first novel, The Seas, earned her selection as one of the National Book Foundation's 5 Under 35. Her novel, Mr. Splitfoot, was an IndieNext Pick. Her work has appeared in The New Yorker, The New York Times Magazine, McSweeney's, Tin House, A Public Space, and many other publications. She lives in upstate New York.


Sticky Fingers: The Life and Times of Jann Wenner and Rolling Stone Magazine Cover Image
$29.95
ISBN: 9781101874370
Availability: Coming Soon - Pre-Order Now
Published: Knopf Publishing Group - October 24th, 2017

The first and only biography of Jann Wenner, the iconic founder of Rolling Stone magazine, and a romp through the hothouses of rock and roll, politics, media, and Hollywood, from the Summer of Love to the Internet age.

Lennon. Dylan. Jagger. Belushi. Leibovitz. The story of Jann Wenner, Rolling Stone's founder, editor, and publisher, is an insider's trip through the backstages of storied concert venues, rock-star hotel rooms, and the political ups and downs of the latter half of the Twentieth Century, right up through the digital age: connecting the counterculture of Haight Ashbury to the "straight world."

Supplemented by a cache of extraordinary documents and letters from Wenner's personal archives, Sticky Fingers is the story of a mercurial, wide-eyed rock and roll fan of ambiguous sexuality but unambiguous ambition who reinvents youth culture, marketing the libertine world of the late sixties counterculture in a stylish, glossy package that would stand for decades as a testament to the cultural power of American youth. Joe Hagan captures in stunning detail the extraordinary lives constellated around a magazine that began as a scrappy rebellion and became a locus of power, influence, and access--using hundreds of hours of reporting and exclusive interviews.

The result is a fascinating and complex portrait of Jann Wenner that is also a biography of popular culture, celebrity, music, and politics in America over the last fifty years.


JOE HAGAN has written for New York, Rolling Stone, The Wall Street Journal, and many other publications. He has published long-form profiles and investigative exposes of some of the most significant figures and subjects of our time, including: Hillary Clinton (her first post-Secretary of State interview), Karl Rove, the Bush family, Henry Kissinger, Dan Rather, Goldman Sachs, The New York Times, and Twitter. He lives with his family in Tivoli, New York.


Joseph Keckler - DRAGON AT THE EDGE OF A FLAT WORLD

Joseph Keckler's signatures are his magnificent three-plus-octave operatic voice and the mesmerizing stories he tells. Combining original pieces with material from his acclaimed performances, Keckler confirms his storytelling mastery, revealing still more of himself on the page.

Dragon at the Edge of a Flat World: Portraits and Revelations Cover Image
$17.50
ISBN: 9781885983251
Availability: Coming Soon - Pre-Order Now
Published: Turtle Point Press - November 21st, 2017

Jesús Carrasco - OUT IN THE OPEN

This event is promoted in collaboration with SPAIN arts & culture and the Consulate of Spain in Houston. Jesús Carrasco will be in conversation with Bolivian writer Rodrigo Hasbún.

Jesús Carrasco presents his award-winning debut novel Out in the Open (Riverhead Books, 2017) about a boy fleeing across an unnamed, drought-stricken country ruled by unspeakable violence.

Out in the Open Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781594634369
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - July 4th, 2017

Min Jin Lee - PACHINKO

NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST; National Bestseller

In this bestselling, page-turning saga, four generations of a poor Korean immigrant family fight to control their destiny in 20th-century Japan, exiled from a home they never knew.

"There could only be a few winners, and a lot of losers. And yet we played on, because we had hope that we might be the lucky ones."

Pachinko (National Book Award Finalist) Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781455563937
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grand Central Publishing - February 7th, 2017

Pachinko (National Book Award Finalist) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781455563920
Availability: Coming Soon - Pre-Order Now
Published: Grand Central Publishing - November 14th, 2017

Coert Voorhees - ON THE FREE

On the Free Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781512429138
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Carolrhoda Books - October 1st, 2017

Steve Schafer - THE BORDER

Perfect for readers of This Is Where it EndsThe Border is a gripping drama about four teens, forced to flee home after a deadly cartel rips apart their families. They must now face life-threatening danger and unimaginable sacrifice as they attempt to cross the U.S. border.

"Thrilling... often brilliant."--Kirkus

One moment changed their lives forever.

A band plays, glasses clink, and four teens sneak into the Mexican desert, the hum of celebration receding behind them.

Crack. Crack. Crack.

The Border Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781492646839
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Sourcebooks Fire - September 5th, 2017

Literary Couple In Conversation: Brendan Kiely and Jessie Chaffee

Join us on Tuesday at Brazos Bookstore as Literary Couple Brendan Kiely (forthcoming TRADITION; THE LAST TRUE LOVE STORY; co-author with Jason Reynolds of ALL AMERICAN BOYS) and Jessie Chaffee (FLORENCE IN ECSTACY) talk books, writing, and life with author Katherine Howe (CONVERSION; THE APPEARANCE OF ANNIE VAN SINDEREN) You definitely don't want to miss this YA/ADULT crossover event!

C. Morgan Babst - THE FLOATING WORLD

A dazzling debut about family, home, and grief, The Floating World takes readers into the heart of Hurricane Katrina with the story of the Boisdores, whose roots stretch back nearly to the foundation of New Orleans. Though the storm is fast approaching the Louisiana coast, Cora, the family's fragile elder daughter, refuses to leave the city, forcing her parents, Joe Boisdore, an artist descended from a freed slave who became one of the city's preeminent furniture makers, and his white "Uptown" wife, Dr.

The Floating World Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781616205287
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Algonquin Books - October 17th, 2017

100 Black Men: Diaspora Stories

Featured authors: Ira Dworkin (author of Congo Love Song) and Toni Pressley-Sanon (Zombifying a Nation, Istwa Across the Water).

Pages