The Unfinished Life of Addison Stone (Hardcover)

The Unfinished Life of Addison Stone Cover Image
$18.99
Hard to Find

This haunting portrait of a young artist reads like the life of Addison Stone herself--charged, explosive, and over too quickly. When art wunderkind Addison Stone falls to her death one night painting a billboard, everyone wants to know about the eccentric girl who made such beautiful work and pulled such crazy stunts. The interviews with her family and friends paint a picture of how the world saw her, her emails and texts give you her own words, and you can make your own decisions from the photos of her sprinkled through this biography--are her eyes sad? Is she smiling or just making a face?--but it’s Addison’s art, printed here in glorious color, that captures this sweet, strange, troubled young woman best. If you think there’s nothing new happening  in young adult fiction, Addison Stone will prove you wrong.

— From Liz's Kids Book Recommendations

Description


For fans of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, Girl, Interrupted, and A.S. King, National Book Award-finalist Adele Griffin tells the fully illustrated story of a brilliant young artist, her mysterious death, and the fandom that won't let her go.

From the moment she stepped foot in NYC, Addison Stone's subversive street art made her someone to watch, and her violent drowning left her fans and critics craving to know more. I conducted interviews with those who knew her best--including close friends, family, teachers, mentors, art dealers, boyfriends, and critics--and retraced the tumultuous path of Addison's life. I hope I can shed new light on what really happened the night of July 28.
--Adele Griffin.

About the Author


Adele Griffin is a two-time National Book Award finalist and the highly acclaimed author of Loud Awake and Lost, as well as numerous other books for young adult and middle grade readers. Adele lives with her husband, Erich, and their two young children in Brooklyn, New York.

Praise For…


Praise for Adele Griffin
  
"Griffin interweaves subtle commentary about social class, drug abuse and mental illness into this marvelous homage while winding the suspense knob all the way to 11."
Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review
 
"The book is so raw that at times it's difficult to read—yet it's impossible to put it down. Readers who are just discovering National Book Award finalist Griffin will want to read more of her books, which frequently explore frightening matters of the human psyche."
Booklist, Starred Review

Product Details
ISBN: 9781616953607
ISBN-10: 1616953608
Publisher: Soho Teen
Publication Date: August 12th, 2014
Pages: 241
Language: English