Amity (Paperback)

Amity Cover Image
$9.99
Special Order - Subject to Availability

Description


"New in paperback. For fans of Stephen King and "American Horror Story," a gruesome thriller suggested by the events of the Amityville Horror."
"Here is a house of ruin and rage, of death and deliverance."
"Here is where I live, not living."
"Here is always mine."
When Connor's family moves to Amity, a secluded house on the peaceful banks of New England's Concord River, his nights are plagued with gore-filled dreams of demons, destruction, and revenge. Dreams he kind of likes. Dreams he could make real, with Amity's help.
Ten years later, Gwen's family moves to Amity for a fresh start. Instead, she's haunted by lurid visions, disturbing voices, and questions about her own sanity. But with her history, who would ever believe her? And what could be done if they did?
Because Amity isn't just a house. She is a living force, bent on manipulating her inhabitants to her twisted will. She will use Connor and Gwen to bring about a violent end as she's done before. As she'll do again. And again. And again.
Inspired by a true-crime story, "Amity" spans generations to weave an overlapping, interconnected tale of terror, insanity, danger, and death.
Praise for "Amity"
"Calling to mind that Stephen King feeling, Ostow brings the most horrifying house in the world to life with chilling intimacy." --Danielle Paige, "New York Times" best-selling author of "Dorothy Must Die"
"With Amity, Micol Ostow reawakens old horrors for a new generation. A frightening tale spun with magic and real chills. Highly recommended." --Jonathan Maberry, "New York Times" best-selling author of "Rot & Ruin" and "V-Wars"
"Heart-stopping and chilling -- Amity will haunt you long after the last page."
-- Kami Garcia, #1 "New York Times" best-selling author "Unbreakable" & coauthor of "Beautiful Creatures"
"There is horror, and then there is the very particular horror of a Micol Ostow novel. . . . The permeable boundaries between now and then, living and dead, mind and world are transcended in Amity, a tale that is as darkly beautiful as it is flat-out terrifying." --Adele Griffin, two-time National Book Award Finalist and author of "The Unfinished Life of"
"Addison Stone"
" T]hose last 30 pages are really freaking scary." --"Booklist"
"Ostow evokes classic Stephen King with this disturbing story. . . . Ostow (family) skillfully builds tension and keeps readers guessing about how much is real and what's simply in her characters' minds."--"Publishers Weekly"
"Steer teen horror fans who aren't quite ready for Stephen King, Peter Straub, or John Ajvide Lindqviste to this one."--"School Library Journal"
"Reader, it scared the hell out of me. . . . Your lovers of horror will not be disappointed." --Liz Burns, "A Chair, A Fireplace, & A Tea Cozy"
"A page-turning thriller, "Amity" will have readers begging to keep the lights on at night." --"VOYA"
"A dark read for a darker night."--"Kirkus Reviews.

About the Author


Micol Ostow has written dozens of books for children, tweens, and teens, but "Amity" is her first foray into horror. It turns out writing a ghost story is almost more terrifying than reading one. (In a good way.)

Her novel "family" was called a "Favorite Book of 2011" by Liz Burns at "School Library Journal," and her illustrated novel, "So Punk Rock (and Other Ways to Disappoint Your Mother)," was a Sydney Taylor Notable Book for Teens. In her

spare time, Ostow blogs with the National Book Award-winning literacy initiative Readergirlz.

She lives in Brooklyn, NY. Visit her online at www.micolostow.com or follow her on Twitter @micolz. The author lives in Brooklyn, NY.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781606846216
ISBN-10: 1606846213
Publisher: Egmontusa
Publication Date: August 25th, 2015
Pages: 368
Language: English