The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly (Hardcover)

The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly Cover Image
$17.99
Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days

I can’t stop thinking about this mesmerizing YA debut novel. In juvenile detention for aggravated assault, seventeen-year-old Minnow makes a deal with an FBI agent: give her a good recommendation at her parole evaluation, and she’ll tell him about the backwoods-dwelling cult that’s taken the last twelve years of her life. Oh, and both her hands. As Minnow learns to live in the complicated society of juvenile prison, her memories pour out in a nail-biting, but ultimately hopeful, story of freedom gained.

— From Liz's Kids Book Recommendations

Description


Now a Morris Award finalist and Golden Kite Honor Book
A hard-hitting and hopeful story about the dangers of blind faith and the power of having faith in yourself.
The Kevinian cult has taken everything from seventeen-year-old Minnow: twelve years of her life, her family, her ability to trust.And when she rebelled, they took away her hands, too.
Now their Prophet has been murdered and their camp set aflame, and it's clear that Minnow knows something but she's not talking. As she languishes in juvenile detention, she struggles to un-learn everything she has been taught to believe, adjusting to a life behind bars and recounting the events that led up to her incarceration. But when an FBI detective approaches her about making a deal, Minnow sees she can have the freedom she always dreamed of if she's willing to part with the terrible secrets of her past.
Gorgeously written, breathlessly page-turning and sprinkled with moments of unexpected humor, this harrowing debut isperfect for readers of Emily Murdoch's "If You Find Me"andNova Ren Suma's "The Walls Around Us," as well as for fans of Orange is the New Black.

About the Author


Stephanie Oakes lives in Spokane, Washington, and works as a library media teacher in a combined middle and elementary school. She has an MFA in poetry from Eastern Washington University. "The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly" is her debut novel.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780803740709
ISBN-10: 0803740700
Publisher: Dial Books
Publication Date: June 9th, 2015
Pages: 400
Language: English