Here (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Here Cover Image
$35.00
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Nov 24 8:15am
(GRAPHIC NOVELS)

Staff Reviews


Richard McGuire’s HERE is an astounding graphic novel, a singular work in the medium. Charting the events occurring in a single spot--here--over the course of millennia, McGuire ingeniously overlays images from various epochs, creating a dreamlike tableau that alters the way time is perceived. Just open it up and take a look. Perfect for fans of Chris Ware, or any reader seeking out the unusual.

— Keaton

Richard McGuire’s HERE is an astounding graphic novel, a singular work in the medium. Charting the events occurring in a single spot--here--over the course of millennia, McGuire ingeniously overlays images from various epochs, creating a dreamlike tableau that alters the way time is perceived. Just open it up and take a look. Perfect for fans of Chris Ware, or any reader seeking out the unusual. — From Here (Richard McGuire)

Description


From one of the great comic innovators, the long-awaited fulfillment of a pioneering comic vision. Richard McGuire's Here is the story of a corner of a room and of the events that have occurred in that space over the course of hundreds of thousands of years.
(With full-color illustrations throughout.)

About the Author


Richard McGuire is a regular contributor to The New Yorker. His work has appeared in The New York Times, McSweeney's, Le Monde, and Liberation. He has written and directed for two omnibus feature films: Loulou et Autre Loups (Loulou and Other Wolves, 2003) and Peur(s) du Noir (Fear[s] of the Dark, 2007). He has also designed and manufactured his own line of toys, and he is the founder and bass player of the band Liquid Liquid. The six-page comic Here, which appeared in 1989 in Raw magazine, volume 2, number 1, was immediately recognized as a transformative work that would expand the possibilities of the comic medium. Its influence continues to be felt twenty-five years after its publication.


Coverage from NPR

Product Details
ISBN: 9780375406508
ISBN-10: 0375406506
Publisher: Pantheon Books
Publication Date: December 9th, 2014
Pages: 304
Language: English
Series: Pantheon Graphic Novels