Don't Call Me Baby (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
Don't Call Me Baby Cover Image
$9.99
Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


This novel, about a girl whose mom has been blogging about her since she was in utero, is a perfect summer beach read for young teens. Imogene, or "Babylicious" as she's known to her mom's twenty-thousand readers, is tired of every detail of her life being shared with the World Wide Web. She and her best friend Sage, also the offspring of a mega-blogger, hatch a plan to get some privacy at the beginning of their 9th grade year: launch their own exposé blogs and give their moms a taste of their own TMI medicine. This is one of my top recommendations for those tweens that are eager to get into YA books, but aren't ready for a lot of the content. It's also refreshing because instead of focusing on crushes, it's a book about friendship and learning to get along with your parents as you grow up. It portrays a girl who is (understandably) frustrated with her mom's invasion of privacy, but learns that her mom has a perspective too and perhaps it's best for both of them if they learn to understand each other. I always love a good family/friendship focused book for young readers, and this is a fun twist on that.

— From Mary-Catherine Kids Books Recommendations

Description


Perfect for fans of Jennifer E. Smith and Huntley Fitzpatrick, Don't Call Me Baby is a sharply observed and charming story about mothers and daughters, best friends and first crushes, and our online selves and the truth you can only see in real life.

All her life, Imogene has been known as the girl on that blog.

Imogene's mother has been writing an incredibly embarrassing, and incredibly popular, blog about her since before she was born. The thing is, Imogene is fifteen now, and her mother is still blogging about her. In gruesome detail. When a mandatory school project compels Imogene to start her own blog, Imogene is reluctant to expose even more of her life online . . . until she realizes that the project is the opportunity she's been waiting for to define herself for the first time.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062208521
ISBN-10: 0062208527
Publisher: Harper Teen
Publication Date: April 22nd, 2014
Pages: 292
Language: English