The Roving Party (Rohan Wilson)

Article by keaton

Set against the unforgiving, otherworldly terrain of the Tasmanian frontier, where “the full moon rolls like a blinded eye,” THE ROVING PARTY recounts a murderous campaign during “The Black War” of the early 1800s--a period of martial law and genocide between British colonists and the aboriginal peoples they sought to eliminate. Yet, while Rohan Wilson’s stunning debut is based in historical fact, he imbues every page with striking metaphorical symbols, lending the horrendous violence he describes a timeless quality. There is horror, to be sure, but the author’s greatest accomplishment is his stark depiction of humanity in conflict with itself. A nightmarish, desolate beauty of a first novel, THE ROVING PARTY is as poetic as it is brutal. Perfect for fans of BLOOD MERIDIAN and HEART OF DARKNESS.

The Roving Party Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9781616953119
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Soho Press - February 25th, 2014

Article Type Terms: