Real Kids Review Books!

Article by marycatherine

We trust our experts because they're YOU! Readers for our brand new ARC Review Program are reading and reviewing the best new picture books, chapter books and young adult novels. 

___

 

Poop Fountain!: The Qwikpick Papers Cover Image
$12.95
ISBN: 9781419704253
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Amulet Books - May 20th, 2014

This book is about three kids who go to see a fountain of (ahem) poop. The kids' names are Lyle, Marilla, and Dave. I think the fact that it's a true story is special. I think that people should read it because it's about a poor boy and his friends doing something amazing. Plus, it has the word poop a lot. I liked this book and I think you will too. 

--Daniel M., 8 


Torn Away Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780316245531
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - May 6th, 2014

TORN AWAY is about Jersey, a sixteen year old girl that thinks she knows all about tornados. When her town is destroyed by one, jersey loses everything-her mom, her sister, and her home. She is first sent to live with her biological father and then her grandparents. Jersey must learn how to cope with the grief and live her life again. I loved this book partly because I was always worried about what was going to happen next. I could not put TORN AWAY down.

-- Caroline B., 13

 


The Glass Sentence Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780670785025
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Viking Children's Books - June 12th, 2014

THE GLASS SENTENCE is a great book. It takes place almost 100 years after the Great Disruption, which threw all the countries and continents into different time periods, from the far future to prehistoric times. The book is about a girl named Sophia. Her Uncle Shadrack is a very famous mapmaker and explorer. When Shadrack gets kidnapped, he leavesher a message in her notebook that says “Find Veressa.” Sophia and her new friend, Theo, leave for the Baldlands to try to find Veressa. I loved this book and would definitely highly recommend it. It is very original, which I really liked. The author created memory maps that allow people to view other people’s memories by touching the maps and created new ways of telling time (from a 20 hour New Occident clock to a 9 hour Baldlands clock). THE GLASS SENTENCE is an amazing book, and anyone who loves adventure books should definitely read this book!

-- Emily B., 11

 


Help! We Need a Title! Cover Image
By Herve Tullet, Herve Tullet (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780763670214
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - May 13th, 2014

This review isn’t finished...haha just kidding! This supposedly unfinished book is about a cast of hospitable characters trying to find a story for their book. The inspiring, creative story seems to look at an unfinished page not as a failure, but as an opportunity. The sketch-like and moldable quality of the art lends to new surprises and discovery on every page! In this book, it’s not the destination that’s great, but the journey. This is a must-read because it teaches you that things don’t have to be finished to be great!

-- Anjelika, 16, Teen Intern

 


Infinite Sky Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481406581
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - May 20th, 2014

INFINITE SKY is about a girl named Iris. Her mom left two months before the book starts. Gypsies, also called Travelers, move on to her family’s land at the start of the book. Iris sneaks out to see the Gypsy boy who is her age, but her father hates the Gypsies so she gets in trouble. Then someone she likes kills one of her relatives (I don’t want to spoil the story by giving away more), and she has to figure out where her loyalties lie. I thought this book was amazing. It was never boring. Even though the story was sad at times, it was happy at the end, and Iris learns to accept that life isn’t always fair. This was a book that I could barely put it down once I started reading it.

-- Emily B., 11


Henny Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781442484368
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books - January 7th, 2014

HENNY is about a chicken with arms who has some trouble fitting in at the farm. This book illustrates what it’s like to be different in a profound, yet relatable way. The simplicity of the illustrations give it a happy, yet delicate feel. It’s easy to relate to Henny when her emotions are written not only on her, but in her surrounding. It’s a memorable book and teaches an important lesson-being different can be good!

-- Anjelika, 16, Teen Intern


Comics Squad: Recess! Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780385370035
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - July 8th, 2014

I liked this book because it is funny and I like funny books. I also liked this book because it is full of comics and I like books with comics. And it is different from other books I've read. 

--Joshua B., 7 


Uncaged Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780385753067
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers - July 8th, 2014

This book is about a radical animal rights group that is hunted by a company that experiments on animals. It explores all aspects of California, which I thought was cool. People should read it because it's packed with action and I couldn't put it down.

--Nicholas E., 12 


Nuts to You Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780060092757
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Greenwillow Books - August 26th, 2014

This book is about a squirrel (Jed) who gets snatched by a hawk and then his friends set out on a treacherous journey to save him. My favorite part was the squirrels’ game at the end. I also enjoyed the squirrels’ interpretation of human language. If you’re looking for a book you can’t put down, choose NUTS TO YOU.

-- Katie R., 9


Kate the Great, Except When She's Not Cover Image
By Suzy Becker, Suzy Becker (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780385387422
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - August 5th, 2014

KATE THE GREAT is about a girl named Kate who has to survive Robin (her older sister), her frenemy Nora, and Mrs. Petty, the art teacher. She is going into fifth grade, which is her last year of elementary school. Kate really likes to doodle, and her drawings throughout the book are very entertaining. She makes jokes and doodles from her day that I felt really added to the telling of the story. The book was very funny and well-written. Kate is close to my age, and I could relate to her in various parts of the book. I highly recommend it!

-- Emily B., 11


The Fire Wish Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780385369763
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - July 22nd, 2014

This book is about two girls who trade places. An ordinary girl captures a jinni and wishes that they could trade places. She ends up living in the jinni’s world, while the jinni must live in the human world. Through the course of the book, each girl learns that they like their own lives better, so they each try to get their old lives back. This book is told from first person point of view with the characters alternating back and forth. I would like to say this book is better suited for girls because almost all the characters in the book are girls.

-- Price P., 11


The Misadventures of the Family Fletcher Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780385376525
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Delacorte Press Books for Young Readers - July 22nd, 2014

THE MISADVENTURES OF THE FAMILY FLETCHER is about two dads and their four adopted boys. I really enjoyed this book, because each boy was from a different culture and religion. As a result, they celebrated all different kinds of holidays which I loved hearing about. The oldest boy was Christian, the next oldest boy was African-American and celebrated Kwanzaa, the second youngest was Jewish, and the youngest was Hindu. I liked that they all were nice to each other and had a great time together. I especially liked the youngest boy, Frog. He was very funny and cute. This book reminded me of the PENDERWICKS series. THE MISADVENTURES OF THE FAMILY FLETCHER showed what family was all about.

-- Caroline B., 13


Frank Einstein and the Antimatter Motor (Frank Einstein Series #1): Book One Cover Image
By Jon Scieszka, Brian Biggs (Illustrator)
$13.95
ISBN: 9781419712180
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Amulet Books - August 19th, 2014

Frank Einstein is a very bright kid scientist who visits his grandfather, Albert Einstein, while his parents are on vacation. Klink and Klank are two self-assembled artificial-intelligence entities (more simply robots). Frank, Klink and Klank work together to make an Antimatter Motor bike to enter into a science fair. I really liked this book because it was funny and entertaining, and it was neat to see how smart Frank was. I was really interested to see if they would win the science fair or not. The robots had funny personalities and helped Frank a lot with the Antimatter Motor bike. I am really glad it is a series and cannot wait for the next one to come out!

-- John B., 8


The Swap Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062311696
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - August 26th, 2014

THE SWAP is about a girl named Ellie and a boy named Jack who switch bodies. Jack (in Ellie’s body) has to get used to going to sleepover birthday parties, soccer, and everything else Ellie usually does. Meanwhile Ellie (in Jack’s body) has to get used to Jack’s three older brothers, his rigorous hockey training, and other boyish things. Seeing how Ellie and Jack reacted to having to live as the opposite gender was very entertaining. I would definitely recommend this book to kids ages 10 to 14. I really liked this book and think it would appeal to boys and girls alike since the main characters are a boy and a girl. THE SWAP was very original and very well-written.

-- Emily B., 11


Leroy Ninker Saddles Up Cover Image
By Kate DiCamillo, Chris Van Dusen (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780763663391
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - August 26th, 2014

Leroy Ninker works at the movie theater in the concessions area; however, he wants to be a cowboy. He realizes that to be a cowboy, he needs a horse. He gets a horse for free from someone wanting a new home for her horse, and then he loses the poor horse. The rest of the story deals with how he tries to get the horse back. I thought this book was really good and finished it in one sitting, I liked it so much. I also liked reading about all of the MERCY WATSON series characters in this story because it is a spinoff from Mercy Watson. LEROY NINKER SADDLES UP was very funny and entertaining, and I hope there will be more of them.

-- John B., 8


Article Type Terms: