Previews for the week of May 7th 2013

Article by Danielle

Although there are great new titles coming in at Brazos Bookstore all the time, we’ll occasionally have a week that’s remarkable for the number and quality of new releases we have to unveil for you. Next week is certainly one of those. In fact, two of our upcoming author events -- Katherine Center on 5/7 and Suzanne Rindell on 5/9 -- feature celebrated local authors whose new novels, THE LOST HUSBAND and THE OTHER TYPIST, respectively, are being released next week to great fanfare.

The Lost Husband Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780345507945
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Ballantine Books - May 7th, 2013

Libby and her children have been living with her mother since the death of Libby’s husband, but the arrangement is wearing thin. When Libby receives an invitation to relocate her family to her eccentric aunt’s Texas Hill Country goat farm, she jumps at the chance for a change. The cast of quirky characters Libby encounters is large and the adjustment is not easy, but slowly she begins to realize that she may have found a new home in the country. Another touching, entertaining read from a celebrated graduate of UH’s prestigious Creative Writing Program. -Danielle


The Other Typist Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780399161469
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Amy Einhorn Books - May 7th, 2013

Our prudish, old-fashioned narrator, a typist in a prohibition-era New York police station, becomes obsessed by the beautiful and mysterious 'other' typist, Odalie. She thrills as her life becomes a fantasy of speakeasies, bathtub gin and bootleggers. But the excitement comes at a price, and our narrator may not be telling the whole story. Fast-paced and cleverly plotted, this a perfect summer novel, and better yet, it was written by a brilliant literature phD candidate from Rice University! -Jeremy


Staff Pick Logo
Flora Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781620401200
Availability: Special Order - Subject to Availability
Published: Bloomsbury USA - May 7th, 2013

Want to know how much readers love Gail Godwin? In a recent blurb John Irving said that Godwin was both “a present-day George Eliot’ and that her latest novel is ‘as word-perfect and taut as an Alice Munro short story.’ Some readers have compared FLORA to Henry James’s classic ghost story “The Turn of the Screw”. The book’s protagonist is 10 year-old Helen, whose beloved grandmother and caretaker has just died, and whose father is working on a wartime project shrouded in secrecy at Oak Ridge, TN. For the summer, Helen is left with Flora, her long-dead mother’s 22 year-old cousin, who, in Helen’s estimation, is the less worldly and mature of the two of them. The events that unfold over that long hot summer change both Helen’s and Flora’s lives forever. You’ll have to read the book to find out how. -Danielle


Staff Pick Logo
A Constellation of Vital Phenomena Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780770436407
Availability: Special Order - Subject to Availability
Published: Hogarth - May 7th, 2013

Interested in reading a fictionalized perspective of Chechnya after recent events in Boston? In Anthony Marra's debut novel A CONSTELLATION OF VITAL PHENOMENA, out May 7th, 8-year-old Havaa's father is abducted by Russian soldiers and her house burned is to the ground. A neighbor rescues her and delivers her to the only remaining doctor in town for safekeeping. Told over a five-day span, this richly imagined, interwoven novel is a page-turner and definitely one of the best books I've read this year! -Augusta


Staff Pick Logo
The 5th Wave Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780399162411
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - May 7th, 2013

For those of you on the lookout for the next big thing in young adult fiction, Rick Yancey’s post-apocalyptic novel THE FIFTH WAVE is it. Touted as a cross between THE PASSAGE and ENDER’S GAME, this fast-paced thriller is an all-consuming, irresistable mélange of alien invasion, familial loyalty and good old fashioned mushy-gushy forbidden love. -Mary


Staff Pick Logo
Minotaur Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781609451165
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Europa Editions - May 7th, 2013

On his forty-first birthday, Alexander Abramov finds the woman of his dreams. There’s only one problem. Due to his occupation as an Israeli spy--a job predicated on distrust--he cannot approach her directly. So, of course, he sets about utilizing every cloak and dagger resource and contact at his disposal to manipulate her life from afar. A forgotten classic by Benjamin Tammuz, Minotaur is an eerie blend of noirish spy thrills and romantic obsession. Graham Greene even went so far as to call it his favorite novel. This one’s perfect for fans of Greene and John Le Carre. -Keaton


Article Type Terms: