Bestsellers of 2016

Article by staff

We think our customers have great taste. You can trust them. Which means that their favorite books of the year must be worth a damn, right? That’s why we’re presenting, drum roll please, a list of our bestselling titles of 2016. Last week, we brought you our bestselling event books, but these are the ones our customers kept returning for, week after week, some well-known, and some a little more obscure.

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One & Two: The Official Script Book of the Original West End Production Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781338099133
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books - July 31st, 2016

#1

Obviously this one is here, right? Probably the newest edition of Rowling’s epic series occupies the number one spot on a lot of bookstore lists. In this, Potter and his clan are a little more...mature, their story told in the form of a play, unlike the other books. Perfect for...well, come on, you know who loves Harry Potter: everyone.


The Door Cover Image
By Magda Szabo, Len Rix (Translator), Ali Smith (Introduction by)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781590177716
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: New York Review of Books - January 27th, 2015

#2

This book was one of our 2015 bestsellers, and it makes a return in 2016 too! It’s an underdog story of success for Hungarian author Szabo’s claustrophobic tale of two women bound in sometimes frightening ways. Call this a real triumph of Brazos handselling, and people who love erudite books of psychological depth will revel in THE DOOR.


All the Light We Cannot See Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781476746586
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Scribner Book Company - May 6th, 2014

#3

Another perennial favorite. Released in 2014, Doerr’s Pulitzer Prize-winner already feels eternal, like something that people will be buying for a long time. And new readers—particularly those interested in historical fiction and moving characters—discover it every day.


The Underground Railroad Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780385542364
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Doubleday Books - August 2nd, 2016

#4

Another book that already feels like a classic, THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD is where Whitehead, one of America’s greatest young novelists, finally gets his due. He reimagines the historical Underground Railroad as an actual railroad—a piece of fantasy that allows us to see the horrors of slavery anew, through a somewhat contemporary lens. Just some jaw-dropping literary fiction; we’ve never met anyone who doesn’t like this book.


Here I Am Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780374280024
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - September 6th, 2016

#5

Foer’s long-awaited new novel was helped in our store because of our partnership with Inprint. They opened their 2016-2017 reading series with Foer, and our customers wanted to see why. The answer? This is a sprawling, controversial work, and love it or hate it, it’s a conversation starter. For fans of Jonathan Franzen and Philip Roth, and for quixotic readers who want a book with pathos, humor, and worldliness.


Night Prayers Cover Image
By Santiago Gamboa, Howard Curtis (Translator)
$18.00
ISBN: 9781609453114
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Europa Editions - March 1st, 2016

#6

We love literature-in-translation, and we love the publisher Europa. We think you will too, especially with books like NIGHT PRAYERS, a globe-spanning thriller that focuses on a family mixed up with drug dealers and corrupt governments. One of our #BrazosBest picks for 2016, and a must-read for fans of smart crime fiction with a political edge.


Commonwealth Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062491794
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper - September 13th, 2016

#7

Another Inprint 2016 event. We love Patchett at the store. After all, she’s one of the patron saints of bookselling (she owns her own store in Nashville). Otherwise, she’s a beloved American author, and COMMONWEALTH is one of her best.


Margaret the First Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781936787357
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Catapult - March 15th, 2016

#8

A postmodern retelling of the story of Margaret Cavendish, a seventeenth-century duchess. Dutton writes compelling historical fiction with a modern edge. Also, a quick read, and great book design! Another 2016 #BrazosBest pick, and a perfect encapsulation of our store’s taste.


The Time of the Doves Cover Image
By Merce Rodoreda, David H. Rosenthal (Translator), David H. Rosenthal (Introduction by)
$15.00
ISBN: 9780915308750
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Graywolf Press - October 1st, 1986

#9

Floor manager Mark Haber adores Rodoreda: frequently he says that, if Nobel Prizes could be awarded posthumously, she’d be a shoe-in. This masterpiece was one of our book club picks in 2016, voted on by our book club members.


2666 Cover Image
By Roberto Bolano, Natasha Wimmer (Translator)
$24.00
ISBN: 9780312429218
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador USA - September 1st, 2009

#10

Each summer, we pick a big book to read for book club; this summer, it was Bolano’s masterpiece 2666, a sprawling and unclassifiable story of crime, death, poetry, and history. It took us three months to read and discuss this book, so get this novel for the people in your life who love a long, rewarding jaunt through a dense and challenging text.


Article Type Terms: